Cozy, wooly & perfect

December 9, 2014 § 20 Comments

flannel-cabin

Hazzah! My tied flannel quilt is done. I feel like I’ve gone backwards in my quilting journey.  But I don’t care. I’ve never done a proper tied quilt before. One night I got a bee in my bonnet and started searching the internet for dark cozy flannels when I stumbled across this kit plus an extra yard of a darker print at Bella Rose Quilt Shop. I didn’t use the pattern but the layer cakes were a great way to get a nice variety of fabric.


It was going to be my Thanksgiving weekend quilt project.  I started the weekend before Thanksgiving. But it took a lot longer to tie all the yarn knots than I thought it would.  Although this was a super easy project, it still takes time! The quilt ended up measuring 90″ x 81″ without a scrap worth saving in the end.

flannel-tied

I was inspired by this photo on Flickr.  Though my version took a bit of a turn because of the layer cakes.  I really wanted the ties to be wool yarn so they would felt up into fuzzy balls of yarn after washing.

flannel-before-washing

This is what the yarn looked like before washing.  I used a double strand of yarn to tie a square knot at every corner seam.

flannel-folded

And I used up most of my leftover wool batting scraps.  There were four large pieces that I stitched together using a multiple stitch zigzag on my sewing machine.  It is SO warm & cozy.  My hubby loves it! And so do I.

flannel-draped

§ 20 Responses to Cozy, wooly & perfect

  • Well it certainly does look like a soft and cozy quilt 😀 and like a quilt that is meant to be used – not just looked at. That’s not a step backward…it’s a sensible step. I love it!

    Great setting for these lovely pictures, too!

  • susan says:

    how funny. a tied quilt has been on my want to do list for a couple months. we just got in layer cakes of some nice woolies and i promised i would make hubs a quilt out of them. thanks for the push!

  • Béatrice says:

    Simple and so beautiful, I love !

  • Lettyb says:

    So excited for you to have this yummy, cozy quilt! It is perfect!

  • Lovely colours and it does look so cosy. 😀

  • audrey says:

    There is definitely a certain charm to a hand tied quilt, especially if it looks cozy.:)

  • Debby Mc says:

    Oh, this is wonderful! I could even be persuaded to start sewing again for this…

  • Joyce Woodbury says:

    Anita, I love it, looks so warm and cozy.

  • Joyce Woodbuty says:

    Happy Thursday Anita, I love your cozy quilt.  Did you buy that kit or the Layer Cakes.  How many layer cakes did it take?  I am thinking of making one of these. Merry Christmas to you and your love ones. Thank you, Joyce Woodbury

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

  • Jackie says:

    Gorgeous quilt – thanks for sharing pictures!

  • Angie says:

    Ooooh I love it too!!

  • Nancy Friedenfeld says:

    I have a quilt made by my Grandmother for me with a wool batting and am concerned about using it because of the wool batting. I am concerned because I don’t know how to clean it! I am afraid that if I wash it it will shrink. So my question is how do you clean it? Mind you this is an old quilt. My Grandmother lived in Arkansas and had to order the batting from San Francisco and it was made many many years ago. Please help!

  • Jeanine says:

    does anyone know how I would cut the squares to make a 120×120 king size?

    • Anita says:

      A 13 x 13 block layout would give you a 117″ square quilt. Or a 14 x 14 block layout would give you 126″ square quilt. The blocks are 9″ finished so you can calculate 9″ x the number of blocks you want in a row or column to determine the finished size.

  • Barbara says:

    So, these ties that are just every 9 inches is adequate to hold it all together nicely?

    • Anita says:

      I tied at every corner which is every 4 1/2″ because the block is 2 squares on one half & 1 large rectangle on the other half. That is enough for the batting that I used. I think it requires no spaces larger than 7 inches if I remember correctly. How close the ties are depends on the requirements of the batting you use. I hope that helps!

  • L L MacBeth says:

    I love the look of this quilt but in So. CA I don’t have the need for this kind of warmth. I was thinking this might work for the scrapes of Hawaiian fabrics I used over the years for grandchildren & sons. What kind of yarn would you recommend for the ties?

  • […] I found myself in this very situation just a few days ago as I was finishing up a secret anniversary quilt for my husband.  This might sound odd, but I have made quilts before, I just never actually “quilted” them.  In the past, I took the fast road and used the yarn tie knot method to hold it all together.  If you don’t know what I mean, check out Bloomin’ Workshop’s colorful flannel yarn tied quilt. […]

  • Nia Lorre says:

    This is nothing short of brilliant. I love the look of tied quilts, but not the raggedy threads hanging off. This is perfect. Not only does it mimic buttons in a way, it will never untie. Your quilt is so beautiful. Thank you very much for sharing this.

  • […] quilts. 100% wool, so it should full up into little pom pom balls very nicely. It saw this and was completely in love. I have never liked the little tails on most tied quilts, but the little […]

Go ahead, say something...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cozy, wooly & perfect at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta