Merry & Bright

December 4, 2014 § 6 Comments

Merry-n-Bright-tablerunner

Five local quilt shops will be participating in a Holiday Shop Hop this Friday & Saturday, Dec. 5th & 6th.  There’s even a flyer with all of the details & shop addresses. There will festive holiday activities and prizes along the way.  All you local peeps…  stop by each of the shops for free holiday block patterns.

Merry-n-Bright-tablerunner-close

So I whipped up a table runner with the Holiday block, Merry & Bright, that my local shop, Gathering Fabric, will be offering.  The blocks are made with the fabulous American Made Brand solids.  And the setting triangles are Riley Blake’s dots.

It’s so hard to photograph this red!  I don’t know if you can even tell, but I quilted the whole thing with orange thread!  You just have to see it in person. I’m really glad I step outside the usual box and used the orange thread.

Merry-n-Bright-tablerunner-back

Wanna see the back?  I found the perfect fabric in my stash.  Now the table runner can be reversible!

This is about as festive as it is going to get around our house this year.  We’ve decided to “skip Christmas” so to speak. At least skip the commercial side of Christmas. So many changes have happened this year between losing my mom last January to my oldest friend moving away to care for her mom.  It just didn’t seem right to even try to make Christmas normal. Whatever normal might have been. So we are opting to lay low, rest, and focus on the true meaning of Christmas.  It feels right, in a way. And I am looking forward to the slower pace for the Holidays.

§ 6 Responses to Merry & Bright

  • Joy says:

    After my parents passed within two years of each other, we too, skipped the commercial side of Christmas and it was fine. This year, one son and his family is coming home, so it’s time to get back into the spirit. And that feels right at this time.

  • Beautiful red and white table runner! I know what you mean about photographing red…I’m trying to get a shot of a vintage (50s) flannel print, and it looks like salmon.

    I’m glad you’re doing what feels right for these holidays and not what is expected. Sometimes the materialism that seems to overtake Christmas can affect us even when not invited. I wish for you a very tranquil holiday season.

  • Lettyb says:

    Pretty runner – looks beautiful on that table🙂

  • Sandy Sorenson says:

    Beautiful! Can’t wait to make one!

  • Christine says:

    {{{Hugs}}}

    I like that your runner is reversible.
    Bonus, that the other side was from your stash. You must have some great “stashsbles”.

  • Sylvia Y says:

    Don’t feel guilty about having a low key Christmas. It’s more important to do what is in your heart. I found that the less that I do for Christmas, the happier I am in the season. We women tend to take on too much at this time of year, feeling that society demands us to do it. I’m slowly getting over that nonsense! P.s. Love the runner–my favorite quilts to make!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Merry & Bright at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

