Summer is nearly over

August 29, 2011 § 11 Comments

Buggy Barn Outdoor Quilt Show

My sister-in-law is in the process of making her very first quilt. So… we had to go check out the Buggy Barn Outdoor Quilt Show over the weekend. It was a beautiful day… and hot… which I am not accustomed to since I live in the land of mild winters & cool summers. There are a few more photos over on Flickr.

And by the way… I think my Summer Circus of Finishing has gone out the window.  It is pathetic how little I’ve accomplished in the last couple of months.  I’m wondering how much I could realistically get done this week?  I can’t believe that summer is nearly over. Folks young and old are heading back to school. I even signed up to take a photography class!

What are you up to?

§ 11 Responses to Summer is nearly over

  • Tami says:

    Ack! I’ve started school back up with the kids already. Today is a bit of a slow day due to summer colds. I’m still on the never ending mission to shrink my “no end in sight” list of started projects. I haven’t had any luck. Each time I get a bit closer to finishing a project, another pops up. Example? 2 new blankets for a baby boy due Sept. 16. Next example? Baby quilt needed for a baby girl due in Dec. and I can’t give just the baby a blanket. Her brother could use one too. 🙂 Thing about the long of December baby? The mother has decided to have the shower in Sept. Maybe after those projects I’ll get back to the already started ones.

  • nicolette says:

    What a great picture! Summer is not ending here, because it never really started. It’s the worst Summer since 1901! Imagine! So, lots of time to spend indoors playing with fabrics and threads.
    A Photography Class! Bet you will love it!

  • Manda says:

    Quilts on the side of a house seems very strange to me, however there are some amazing quilts on there!
    I cannot believe that summer is nearly over either. Not sure when our summer was… think I must have blinked and missed it!

  • Rachel says:

    Oh that quilt show looks wonderful!

    Don’t be too hard on yourself about not finishing everything. You’ll get it all done in time! Have fun with your photography class.

  • Karen Beigh says:

    Oh, how I would have liked to see the Buggy Barn Quilt Show. Interesting that the have the barn side covered with quilts.

  • Mary Jo Larson says:

    I am fast and furiously trying to finish a quilt by Thurs. I only have to pin layers and quilt it and sew on the binding. We’ll see. And then I am going to cover composition notebooks. Off to pin.

  • Lynn says:

    What a cool picture of the quilts on the barn!!! Reminds me of the pics from Sisters, OR. Great shot. I’m off to look at the rest of them…

  • Briana says:

    I love that photo of the barn covered in quilts. Looks like it was a cool quilt show!

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    I seriously think that you have some of the best quilt shows over there on the west coast…not sure what happens over here on the east coast…somehow our quilt shows always end up inside a school gymnasium…just not the same esthetic.

    I think you did great finishing projects this summer, and you inspired me to narrow my focus and work on things I have had sitting around. I’m not done with any of mine yet, but I have made good progress. I can’t wait to get my medallion quilt finished. My goal is to have the top ready for our Sept. 27th anniversary…it will be anniversary # 25 :o) Hooray for us!!

    Hope to see some fun things you learn in photography class!

  • Natalie J says:

    I want to decorate a barn with quilts now!

  • amandajean says:

    i love that photo! it looks like a fun place to be. 🙂

    i am with you, friend. i finished very little this summer. i only finished one quilt in July, but not even ONE quilt in August. shameful. no wonder i hate August so much. ha! it’s hot and there is so little time to quilt!
    but…i have big plans for september! fingers crossed.

Go ahead, say something...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer is nearly over at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta