Fabric chosen… check!

October 7, 2011 § 10 Comments

mostly stash fabric

Have you chosen your fabric for the Carpenter’s Wheel QAL yet?

Part of the reason for making this quilt is to just use up some of the fabric already in my stash. So I just went through my stash and pulled a few. There might be a couple that are a little too dark in value, but I’ll have to see what it starts looking like when I begin cutting the fabrics.  I decided against string piecing the diamond shapes…  too much work for me at the moment!  I need fast and easy.

I’m making the big 7″ strip diamonds for the largest quilt option.  And my plan is each diamond shape will be a different fabric.  That means 32 different fabrics for the star portion and 4 more for the corner blocks… if I decide to make the corner blocks.

How is the choosing of your fabrics going?  Any questions that have come up so far?

Next week I’ll talk about cutting the strips.  I was planning on doing it this week, but the week has gotten away from me. Yesterday afternoon was spent waiting for my car to be serviced. Booo.

EDITED TO ADD:  Oh yeah, and by the way… I will explain the Y-seams method and the half-square triangle method of assembly.  Don’t worry. You all will do fine.  And one of these days I will make an official QAL page.

§ 10 Responses to Fabric chosen… check!

  • Mary Jo Larson says:

    Pretty fabrics. I haven’t figured out what fabric I am going to use yet but most likely from my stash. I will make the big block, option 1 I think. Hopefully I can fit it in. I’m already doing so many other projects. It could be a Christmas gift though so that is my reasoning. Thanks for doing it.

  • so the fabrics should be of equal value then, nothing too stand out ish? i love what you picked. it seems libertyish to me.

  • Viv says:

    I have mine picked out 🙂 I’ll add a photo of them onto my blog so you can see them.

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    I’ve decided on the one big wheel option also…and I want to try the diamond method with the Y seams…I’ve never done them so it will be a good opportunity to learn. I can’t wait!!! I’m with Susan (above) about the fabric question…all of like appearance? I’m also not real good with discussions of value. What about size of print on the fabrics…all similar in scale or mix it up? Any and all suggestions are gratefully accepted 🙂

  • Messy Karen says:

    i found 13. so the extra time will help. i also want each print to be different. & trying hard not to use anything new.

  • Lexi Lucas says:

    Oh I can’t decide on fabric. I spent hours messing up the stash and reshuffling it. I pulled out colours for my eldest son but he wasn’t particularly thrilled with them. I didn’t say I was looking for a quilt for him, maybe I’d get a better reaction if I did. Anyway, I’ll keep searching… I’m glad youv’e given us extra time 😉

  • Susan says:

    I officially want to play in your stash now….A.D.O.R.A.B.L.E. But, since miles and miles are between us, I will go hunt my own stash and not pout!!!! Tons of hugs….susan

  • Marian Martin says:

    Love your fabric choices! Now I have to get moving, for sure! Hmmm, stash buster project or new fabric or maybe both. Oh what to do, what to do 🙂

  • Izzy says:

    Hello lady !!! Your choices are lovely, can’t wait to get started. My camera and phone not working well, so I cant take pics yet ..I deleted my blog even though I just began it because I want to begin a new blog anyway LOL !!! So I still have my email addy and will be mailing you my pics which you are welcomed to post if you like but until my stuff is working again , my blog is down!!! Keep up the beautiful work…Izzy

Go ahead, say something...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fabric chosen… check! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta