23 – You can never have too many Oven Mitts & Potholders!

December 2, 2010 § 4 Comments

New Oven Mitts

Are you making any Christmas gifts this year?  A couple of years ago I made potholders for some quick Christmas gifts.  While flat potholders are definitely quicker than shaped oven mitts, these weren’t too bad. Either way, I don’t think you can ever have too many potholders or oven mitts.

2 scrappy ones for me

These aren’t Christmas gifts.  I guess you could say they are sort of a gift to myself?  Maybe I will make a few for gifts later…

The top two are to replace our old ratty ones that are getting a little thin. The fabric is from the scrap bins. And I just traced around the old ones onto some paper and sort of made a pattern from it.

1 Christmas one for work

This one is for a display at work. The fabric is 12 Days of Christmas by Sharon Sowell for Clothworks. And the pattern is from the Winter 2010 issue of Quilts and More.

the quilting process

This is the easy part. I sort of do the  mass produced method and quilted them using a ruler to space the lines and tape to stitch next to so that the lines came out straight.  I used a layer of Insul~Bright by The Warm Company next to the outside fabric and a layer of cotton batting next to the inside lining fabric. The packages of Insul~Bright also have an oven mitt pattern on the back.

And in case you feel the need to make a few yourself, there are patterns and tutorials all over the Internet. Here are a few links to get you started.  Now I feel like baking something.  Christmas cookies anyone?

§ 4 Responses to 23 – You can never have too many Oven Mitts & Potholders!

Go ahead, say something...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading 23 – You can never have too many Oven Mitts & Potholders! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta