A New Week

April 26, 2010 § 24 Comments

Wild Geese

It’s a new week!  Yay!  And it’s nearly a new month as well.  I think half of my excitement is based on the fact that my fitness challenge at the gym where I work out has ended today. It feels like freedom!  Now I can do what  I want again. Is that bad?

Here’s an EQ mock up of the Wild Geese quilt that I would like to make based on that Wild Goose Chase quilt from The American Quilt book.  I want BIG blocks so that I can get it done.  There is this weird phenomenon that seems to occur once the new project excitement wears off.  Suddenly, a great idea never gets finished. I think I have a few of those sitting around.  Maybe I should attempt to finish one or two of those this summer.

Because peer pressure is a good thing when it comes to completing something… want to join me in making this quilt?  If so, here are some facts you might want to ponder:

  • Block size = 16″ finished
  • Geese Sashing size = 4″ finished
  • Approximate finished size of quilt = 85″ x 85″
  • Yardage requirement for Geese = about 6 1/2 yards total if you will use the Companion Angle & Easy Angle method that I will be using.  More if you want to make traditional half-square triangles to create a flying geese block.
  • Yardage requirement for Background = about 3 1/2 yards total, again if you follow my method with the rulers. More if you want to use a different method.

I’m still thinking about how we might want to work on this.  Maybe we should set a  goal to finish 1/4 of the quilt or 4 blocks plus the adjoining sashing in one month, for a total length of 4 months. I kinda think that once we get a system going the block making will speed up over time.  Then it’s just sew and repeat.  So that would be May through August with a finished quilt by the end of the summer?

What do you think? Are you game?

§ 24 Responses to A New Week

  • jmbmommy says:

    Wow…that’s a lot of birds!! This is going to look phenomenal when you are done. I can’t wait to see it.

  • Katy says:

    4 blocks in a month? One a week? Heck, yes. I’ve got my new stack of HV ordered, so it’ll be a week or so before it arrives but then I am so in.

    Oh, and another thing – I just found it hilariously funny (I know – simple things amuse me) that I am clearly on a goose obsession at the minute…fat geese last month, wild geese this. Where can my goose fetish go next?!

  • Debbie says:

    Why am I attracted to these geese? I wish I could make them perfect each time. Hoping you can give me a few hints…at least practice makes perfect. I’m in.

  • jennifer says:

    i’m so game for this. have you seen this method for making flying geese? it is so fast and easy.

    how will this work? are you going to post tutorials or will it be a block along or what? i’d at least need a block pattern for sizing and figuring measurements.

    anyway, i like it and i want to do it. that probably qualifies me for insanity.

  • Viv says:

    I’m in for sure!!! Can’t wait to start. One block a week with sashing is a good amount.

  • Alexandra says:

    I am in!!!!!!!!! It sounds doable (that’s a word now). I have the same ruler, it means there is one cut, easier when there are sooooo many geese. This is going to be pure awesomeness in the name of a great panda!
    I think I might use my Anna Maria Horners for this. Or will I buy HV? Ooo, what about some repros? Well, how about doing 2 at the same time! Never let ambition get in the way of actually getting something completed!
    Looking forward to this Anita, you go girl.

  • Debbie says:

    Do you think FQs would work for each block? Trying to see what I have in my stash, before I make that quilt store trip.

  • deb says:

    I’ll have to find the rulers somehow, but I still want to do this. I think I’ll use white as my back ground to make it look fresh.

  • Diane F says:

    I really want to play also. Time to dig in my civil war reproductions.

  • Dena Martin says:

    Good luck in your challenge. That’s a lot of flying geese… If I didn’t already have so many projects in the works, I’d join.

  • sewpam63 says:

    I am feeling the temptation…

  • MichelleB says:

    I would love to join in! I love the way this quilt looks. I love the colors that you chose, too. Are they actual fabrics, or just colors?

  • kathie says:

    this is a quilt I have wanted to make for a long time
    oh I am going to have to really consider making it with you…ah yes inspiration is a good thing!!!!
    are you going to use solids?
    Kathie

  • Taryn says:

    I think I am game. I will be going with prints…thinking maybe a lot of different indigoes. I love blue and white but usually get bored with two color quilts (even if the prints vary) so perhaps the challenge format will keep me plugging away. Besides, it’s about time I brushed up on my flying geese skills. Haven’t made them for a long time.

  • lily boot says:

    Yep! I love it. I know I failed hopelessly at the medallion quilt, but I need a new quilt project with a bit of discipline. And I adore flying geese. So count me in Anita!

  • isabel says:

    Since yesterday I feel that I should see your blog, and here is the answer 😉 I have been looking for a pattern to use my Hope Valley collection and just couldn’t find something perfect, that value the pattern and have some interesting patchwork. And here it is!!! I’m with you on this, Anita. But I can’t promise any dead line, you know me ;)))

  • Love this quilt, and would love to join in! Can’t wait to hear more. I’m sure if I can’t figure out some other way (pre-printed flying geese papers, or some other quick-cut method?) I’ll find the rulers somewhere, even if I have to order them online. Love the colors; waiting to hear how much we need per block, or what the next steps are.

  • Brenda says:

    I’m in. I looked at your mock up and thought Hope Valley before i realised That was what you had used. I probably won’t keep up but I will finish one day.

  • Lisa says:

    I’m so in! I love your mock up and I definitely could use some fabric busting ☺

  • […] it Anita is just providing fantastic instructions for a very lovely quilt based on flying geese here. Posted by sewplay Filed in Neighbourhood and Community Leave a Comment […]

  • Meg says:

    I can’t guarantee 4 blocks a month–I can hardly guarantee my flip-flops match in the mornings! But I love this quilt, and I have an orphaned FQ pack of Rounneries that I’ve wanted to make into geese–this seems the perfect opportunity. Thanks for this!!

  • […] So, I’ve signed up to another Quilt-a-long.  A Flying Geese quilt-a-long over at Bloomin Workshop. I haven’t really done any geese before, just a few half square triangles.  It was a good […]

  • Paula says:

    Ooh, I want in! I can’t start for a few days as I am away in France so I might need to catch up and do two blocks but can I play along please?!

Go ahead, say something...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading A New Week at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta