No Worries

April 29, 2010 § 12 Comments

Pea Patch Prototype

I had a blog post all worked out in my head this morning. Then I took my car in for service and ran a bunch of errands. Now my head is blank!  Let’s see if I can recollect what I wanted to say. It always sounds much more eloquent in my head than it ever does on blogging “paper”.

I’ve been thinking about Kathy’s Whine & Cheese post and AmandaJean’s return to blogdom.  The internet certainly has created a whole new basket of psychological issues that never before existed, hasn’t it?  Not that we haven’t had days of feeling inadequate before.  But now it’s on a whole new level!  More than ever, I want to vow to myself that blogging (and quilting) will be a no-pressure, no-guilt activity. This is supposed to be fun, right?  Blogging and quilting are hobbies.  There will be no police patrolling this neighborhood.  Everyone is welcome! Young, old, modern and traditional.  It’s all good!

I like that Crazy Mom Quilts has discovered that her blog is a valuable documentation tool and a record of tiny snippets of her life.  I feel that way too. It’s kind of like an online diary of my quilting, baking and daily adventures.  Sometimes I forget what I’ve been doing and this keeps it all together in one place.  No one else may care. But I like it.  It makes me happy.

Chair + Quilt

This quilt was the inspiration for my Pea Patch quilt.  It started out bigger and as the design process went along, it shrunk a little and became more manageable.  Unfortunately, I am sometimes snail-like in finishing projects that have no deadline.  Here it was on my design wall. And now, some 18 months later, it’s finally quilted and bound.  Whew!  Another UFO off the shelf!

Oh yeah… I also wanted to mention… if you are joining me in making that Insane Flying Geese quilt… don’t worry about the rulers.  You can make it with the rulers like I will be doing… or not.   I think I’m going to post alternate ways to make flying geese to give you options. I’m choosing the rulers because it uses the least amount of fabric. I only have fat quarters to work with. But you are free to make the flying geese by any method you choose. It will just take a little more fabric if you don’t use the rulers.  Okay? Good.

§ 12 Responses to No Worries

  • Kathy says:

    Your blog makes us happy too! Thank you.

  • Rachel says:

    You know, Anita, I’ve actually considered giving up quilting because when I see what others can do I just feel so inadequate – and it’s not that anyone has ever said anything negative about my work, but sometimes I think it just doesn’t measure up and I think, why bother? I wonder if anyone else feels that way.

    I love your Pea Patch quilt! And I love your blog, so keep chatting to us and showing us your lovelies!

  • Meredith says:

    I am glad you went into depth about the rulers. I am on the fence about buying anything else. I might have one but I am unsure becuase my sewing room is a mess. I am intrigued about using less fabric. I appreciate everything (on a quilting level) that people bring to the blog world.

  • Una says:

    HEAR, HEAR to no pressure and no rules concerning quilting and blogging! I see on your side panel the B.W.O logo. Mine disappeared somehow. I will have to reinstall it. The rulers are extremely expensive to ship from the US and fairly difficult to find, so I will have to do with some other method. Can’t wait – no pressure:))

  • pratima says:

    You pea patch quilt is gorgeous! Yes, yes… no pressure – no guilt is just the way to go about. I always enjoy your posts🙂

  • whatktmadenext says:

    Oh I totally understand where you’re coming from with writing posts in your head and then it disappearing by the time you get to the PC! It’s so frustrating!

    Pea Patch is lovely. It’s so bright and cheery!

  • Lovely quilt…the colours are fab!

    I know what you mean about having a blog post whirling in your head, but it not coming out the same on “paper”…I do that all the time.

  • mathea says:

    I’m sitting here, reading and nodding to myself – yes I know all about writing perfect blog posts in my head, followed by a blank mind once I get to the computer. And about taking forever to finish a quilt without a deadline. And as for not feeling worthy and adequate enough compared to other bloggers, I know I do that regularly, and I have to be quite stern with myself and remind myself that they’re only people too, and we all do this voluntarily, and my blog is a lot about recording what I spend my time on for my own reference. I love it when somebody who stops by leave a comment, but I won’t let that be my reason d’etre in the blog world. Let’s all have fun and do our own thing in our own way, I say.
    OK, I’ll get off my soap box now and just finish saying what I actually entered to say: I love your quilt! Beautiful warm colours, and the wide stripes mean that you get to show off some lovely fabrics. Well done!

  • melissa says:

    I just love those bright colors!

  • […] ..for the last couple of weeks I’ve been thinking about what blogging means to me prompted by Anita’s post and Kathy’s […]

  • amandajean says:

    i LOVE this quilt! it makes me want to rummage through my stash and work on one like it right now. it looks perfect with the turquoise stripe in it.

    i’m already failing in the area of no committment blogging, but i’m going to keep trying! thanks for linking.🙂

  • Kathleen says:

    I love reading your blog. You said no one else may care…but you could be surprised that many like me, get such inspiration from your precious ideas, quilts, metal lawn chairs, birdies!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading No Worries at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

