Quilterly Thoughts

April 20, 2010 § 23 Comments

Wild Goose Chase

I have to confess, I’ve been in a weird funk lately.  It’s probably just the ebb and flow of life.  And maybe it’s a sign to step back from things, breathe, and appreciate and enjoy the little things around me.  Today I feel better. Maybe it’s the promise that summer is just around the corner. Or the biking excursions we have been talking and dreaming about.  I hear Whistler, BC has some great bike trails and that a person can ride the gondola to the top of the mountain and then ride your bike all the way down. For some reason, that just sounds like a complete blast to me!

The quilt above is in the book The American Quilt and all those flying geese fascinate me!  I’m feeling the need to cut up my stack of Hope Valley fabric and making something similar.  Is anyone else a big fan of the flying geese block?  Wanna join me in making a quilt like this?  If there is enough interest, I could put together some measurements and cutting instructions… perhaps…

I’ve also been thinking about a putting together a Block of the Month quilt for the shop where I work using all those beautiful Westminster Kaffe Fassett, Philip Jacobs, and company of fabrics.  I’ve been asking customers what it is that attracts them to Block of the Month programs.  Is it the blocks?  The quilt?  Having someone else choose the fabrics for you? Or having a project to work on together with friends?  Do you enjoy making more than one of the same block? Or do you need each block to be different?  And… is anything longer than 12 months too long for you?  I’ve been getting some interesting answers. What are your thoughts?

What’s occupying your thoughts lately?  (Okay, that’s a lot of questions. Sorry!  You don’t have to answer them.  I’m just thinking out loud today)

§ 23 Responses to Quilterly Thoughts

  • Katy says:

    oh my gosh – when your post first opened I saw that picture and thought ‘wouldn’t that look amazing in hope valley?!’ ha ha. if you write up instructions, I’ll go shopping for more HV and we can make it together (holding hands, of course!)

  • Debbie says:

    I’d love to try that quilt but I would need someone to spur me on….

  • I like BOM because they are a reasonable goal if you have a very busy LIFE… all the sudden you have a quilt at the end of the year. I like to pick my own fabrics but a lot I know do not and I think longer than 12 m would be too long, if you want more blocks make 2 a month?

    I grew up near the Maah Daah Hey trail which is a relatively well know bike trail… though certainly no mountain like Whistler!

  • Alexandra says:

    That quilt is gorgeous, HV would look awesome, so would Kaffe.
    I think the appeal of bom is that someone has worked out the maths, organised blocks that work well together and the placements of the fabrics to get a pleasing array. Plus you say to yourself, “sure I can do one block per month, that’s easy”……and then get 3 blocks behind by month 5!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • I like BOM’s because little goals are manageable. but I agree with Badlands~ make 2 blocks a month if you need to for a larger quilt. I love the flying geese quilt. It would be fun to set a goal of x-many geese a month. 😉

  • Trisha says:

    I adore flying geese and think it would be lots of fun to make that quilt. I could use a quilt along to stick with it. I would probably use it as a chance to bust some stash.

  • Asiyah says:

    I love that quilt and would definitely make it. I do BOMs because it’s a manageable commitment. Plus I like not having to figure the yardage and block cuts.

  • deb says:

    Yes yes yes, that quilt would be awesome in bright colours. I’m in!

  • Viv says:

    Gorgeous quilt !! If you did a quilt-a-long for that I’d join. I like quilt-a-longs better than BOM because I like to choose my own fabric. Anything over 12 months is too long for me.

    Love the sound of the gondola ride and biking down, i hate cycling up hill.

  • Dena Martin says:

    Love the picture of the Wild Goose Chase quilt.

    For me, I enjoy BOM’s because the program breaks down a large project into something more manageable in my tight schedule.

  • Melissa says:

    Hi, Love the flying geese quilt. I would love to do a block for that. I live in Australia so I am not sure if that works for you but the design is amazing and you have just got to do it anyway.

  • Jan says:

    This would be a great quilt- along! I’d do mine in scrappy repros probably.
    BOM – never did one. Don’t think I would like having everything provided unless it was love at first sight. Prefer to choose my fabrics myself. Wouldn’t rule it out, though – Never say never!

  • JayeL says:

    Sometimes I just need a brain dead quilt to make. I did one recently with a pattern and a jelly roll. It was perfect to get me through a few off days.
    Jaye
    http://artquiltmaker.com/blog

  • Tami says:

    I want to write. I want to respond but my brains not functioning tonight. Don’t know why. Too much manual labor today?
    I’ve never done a BOM. They always seem to cost too much and rarely have they jumped out at me. Much prefer quilt-a-longs. 🙂 I have not yet attempted flying geese…I don’t think. Maybe I have. Remember my brain isn’t working. 🙂 So ready to begin my vacation tomorrow. TN here I come.

  • I think people like BOM because it’s like joining a club without a lot of stress. The other thing is you can have a quilt in a year yet it doesn’t feel like you labored over it….it just magically appears. I might be tempted to sew along with the quilt you have shown…it’s a beauty.

  • Sarah says:

    I love flying geese patterns. I have way to much going on right now, but if you start a flying geese quilt, I will definitely quilt along with you! I just don’t think I’d be able to resist!

    As for BOM, typically the fabric choices deter me from joining. I usually like to choose my own fabric, for me that’s my favorite part of quilting!

  • pratima says:

    Anita, the flying geese quilt is so stunning! It’ll be a vision in your hope valley fabrics.
    I’m so tempted to join, but I think I better focus on wips for a while 🙂

  • Gisele says:

    Love that flying geese quilt & would definately join in a quilt along.
    I’m relatively new to quilting so it would really help me not having to work out all the maths. Wish I’d been around for your Medallion quilt along as that quilt is stunning!
    As for BOM’s, I have joined one as a learning exercise to use bright colours & fussy cutting but think I would prefer to choose my own fabrics for future projects.

  • Lisle says:

    I love BOM programs, because they always use fabrics that I would never put together. I love colors that I choose, but I enjoy having something a little out of my comfort zone, as well. And it’s just a little, because I only have enough to make the blocks, and I don’t have to spend money acquiring fabric I don’t think I’ll ever use. And sometimes, those fabrics I didn’t love turn into beautiful quilts. (specifically, the flowery pastel one my daughter loves)

    My favorite BOM was actually one block a week, and I did it in four colorways. Crazy? Absolutely. But I finished four whole quilts as a result of that, and it was good to know that I was capable of that. And realistically, it was four of the same block in a week, which anyone knows is not too many…

  • Una says:

    I’m already thinking colorways. Hmm. Do I have time? Need I one more of the UFOs? Oh, bother – I’m in! Big blocks is a great idea, and will for sure inspire heap of beautiful quilts!! This will be fun! U

  • Messy Karen says:

    i like monthly assignments. but am always willing to do it faster . would love to make this quilt. and will look for fabrics i might want to use. that is always the fun part. matching fabric choices to the pattern.

  • Came to check out your quilt after seeing Katy’s first block. YES you should totally come to Whistler it is amazing. Not only can you ride down from the peak (in hard core downhill free-ride style over jumps and berms and off ramps), or on a switchback trail. That’s just a small bit – there are amazing trails all over the place. If you come, be sure to ride “A River Runs Through It” – beautiful cross-country trail.

    Your HV goose quilt is going to look beautiful!
    -Krista in Vancouver, BC

  • Beth says:

    Is it too late to join? I just stumbled upon this via Pinterest and I’m very excited! I love flying geese quilts!
    Beth

Go ahead, say something...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quilterly Thoughts at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta