Recycled Clothing Quilt-Along

June 25, 2009 § 30 Comments

Recycle and make a quilt!

Recycle and make a quilt!

UPDATE: I’ve created a Flickr group if you want to start sharing what you are recycling.

All cut up and ready to go!  The city has been repaving the road in front of our house this morning and we couldn’t leave for a couple of hours.  So I set my mind to cutting these shirts apart and getting them ready to go.  I even had to get out my dollar granny cheater glasses to be able to see the thread to cut the buttons off of the shirts.

Some of you mentioned an interest in recycling shirts (or other clothing) and making them into a quilt. So… I’m thinking… maybe we could have an informal, low-key, quilt-along during the month of August?  Wanna join me and make a quilt from some old clothing?  That would give you some time to collect some old shirts or skirts or pants or whatever. And it would give me some time to finish up a few of my many projects.

Think about quilting along with me and I’ll come back to this thought in about a month. Okay? Now, go and enjoy your day!  It’s not even noon yet here and I’m already needing another pot of coffee!

§ 30 Responses to Recycled Clothing Quilt-Along

  • Zarina says:

    August should be good for me. I should have my final draft of my master’s thesis done and can concentrate completely on sewing (quilts, pants, baby clothes, children’s blouses, the quilt-along).

  • Heather says:

    August may work for me too!!! I love the colors you chose – perfect for a beach quilt.

  • AJ in AZ says:

    August will be good unless I get a new job, and then I won’t have time. I would hate to leave but really want the new job. Wish me luck!

  • MichelleB says:

    Sounds like fun!

  • Mary Carole says:

    Bonnie Hunter at http://www.quiltville.com is my hero in re-purposing fabric. She also has a book called “Scraps & Shirttails”. This is a wonderful idea for a low-key quilt along. A fun project for a hot August project.

  • Sounds like a great idea! Love the stack in the picture.

  • Dorothee says:

    I would love to join! I have a large pile of men’s shirts that I have collected over time. For years, I have been planning a quilt, I’ve got a pattern in mind and a few weeks off in August. I might well make it … otherwise this would not be the first quilt-a-long I joined and never finished.

  • Count me in. I have been meaning to make my nephew a flannel quilt made from pajama bottoms and shirts; maybe a couple of denim patches too. August will be great!

  • Liz says:

    It would be interesting – I am cleaning up some closets so I would have old regatta t-shirts that should be made into something interesting. I also have my Dad’s ties that I have been meaning to do something with as well as some old hankies. So many projects to think about.

  • Lisa says:

    I would like to join you, it sounds like fun.

  • I’m in Anita. I hit Goodwill after your last post and just got home with the loot and found this!

  • Sharon says:

    I’m in too!! Gives me a legitimate reason to hit the thrift shop tomorrow. Hoping to find more madras shorts/shirts….maybe in a XXX size so that I can get more squares out of it! 🙂

  • Melody says:

    August would be awesome. That gives me just enough time to recuperate from my boy’s wedding!

  • jacquie says:

    i have a stack that looks just like this and august would be great…i’m going to have some time. i even have a plan and drawings, i just haven’t had the time. i’m in and i’m excited!!!

  • Lynn says:

    I’m not sure if I’ll join, but I’m definitely watching this qal. I have some old house coats from my grandmother that I want to make into a quilt and I’m interested in seeing all the patterns used.

  • Sharon says:

    My trip to the thrift shop today was a success! I bought 5 men’s shirts for $20! They ranged in price from $2.50-$6.00. I even got one in a solid color denim-y blue. The others are plaids and stripes. There were plenty to choose from. Think I am just going to cut them into 4″ squares. I will take a photo tomorrow to share with all of my new KAL friends!

  • Jackie says:

    Such wonderful possabilities!

  • I am so excited about your new project.

    xx JM, Denmark

  • Sharon says:

    I added 2 photos to our Flickr group! One is a photo of me in my bathing suit! 🙂 Started to do a little cutting today–won’t be buying any more shorts–toooo many seams! I guess after I make some “flat” fabric from the shirts, then I’ll cut out squares.

  • Mary Jo says:

    I love your blog and check it out everyday. Have you seen the little girls dresses made out of a man’s plaid shirt? Check it out at polkadotchair.blogspot Ive tried it and it is so easy and cute. Will join in
    your quilt along. MJ

  • susan says:

    love the idea
    i will be hitting the thrift shops in july for goodies

  • amandajean says:

    i love the idea of this. i have been collecting clothing to make a quilt…my husband’s shirts and some of my boys’ too. i found some at Goodwill that i just loved the other day, but i couldn’t justify the cost…maybe on half price day?

  • Nancy-Rose says:

    I can’t wait!!! Consider me “IN”!

  • Lynette says:

    I would love to join, I haven’t joined a “quilt-a-long” yet, and this sounds fun ! I have a few shirts waiting already.

  • tina says:

    I started gathering shirts today. Cut off buttons and labels tonight. Will work on cutting them apart and find a pattern by August. Looking forward to joining the group.
    tina

  • […] The first little tick against the ‘to do list’ this month has been made. I hope to have a flurry of progress posts this month as I prepare for a busy August and Anita’s Recycled Clothing Quilt-along. […]

  • diane says:

    I am hoping my commitment to a project like this will help me get my mojo back! I’ve saved old blue jeans and flannel shirts for years with the intention of making my son a dorm quilt for college. He stats school this fall so the timing would be perfect!

  • Paris says:

    Great idea! You can find a lot of mens shirts at thrift stores for CHEAP too!

  • Ashira says:

    Hello, I just came across your site…was wondering if this quilt along from recycled clothing ever happened. Has it been removed? I can’t seem to find it archived.

    Ashira

Go ahead, say something...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recycled Clothing Quilt-Along at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta