I finally finished something

May 1, 2014 § 12 Comments

DGS-Dec2013-4

Woohoo! I finished something!  How about that?  On top of that it is an unusually gorgeous day in the Pacific Northwest.  I am getting tired of take photos of quilts on our shed. But I just haven’t found any other location that works as well.  I need an old barn like this for photo shoots.

The blocks were made by the ladies in the Faith Circle of Do.Good.Stitches.  And I assembled them into a quilt.  I asked them to make wonky log cabin blocks similar to those I found in this inspiring quilt.

DGS-Dec2013-3

Then I put three borders around the blocks. The first one is Kona Cotton, color lime, from Robert Kaufman. The second one is Kaffe Fassett’s Spots in China Blue. And the third one is Kaffe Fassett’s Radiation in Pastel.  All of the border fabrics were left over from other projects. Even the binding was a stash fabric.

I decided to straight line quilt it in a diamond grid.  It seemed like a good choice with all of the busy, wonky fabrics in the middle.

DGS-Dec2013-2

Then I had this crazy flamingo fabric that I wanted to included on the back. But there wasn’t enough for the whole back. So I added some Denys Schmidt Chicopee that I found at the shop where I work.  And two more blocks that came in after I had already sewn the front together.

DGS-Dec2013

Here’s a shot of the whole back.  The quilts we make in the Faith Circle are all sent to Restore Innocence, an organization that rescues young girls from human trafficking.

Hmm… which unfinished project should I work on next?

§ 12 Responses to I finally finished something

Go ahead, say something...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading I finally finished something at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta