Any measurable progress is good, right?

June 23, 2017 § 11 Comments

Well, I’ve finished one languishing quilt UFO so far. That’s progress, right?

This started as a Merry Mayhem New Year’s Day Mystery Quilt-along. 2015. I think it might have been Case #138 “Regatta.” The directions included a ton of half-square triangles. When I saw the final outcome I wasn’t all that enamored. So I found a different way of arranging all those half-square triangles.

I think the inspiration for arranging the half-square triangles might have been the block in Thimble Blossom’s quilt called Fireworks. I just made four giant blocks and sashed them with the polka dot fabric. The only fabric I may have purchased was the backing fabric – most likely on sale somewhere – as I was intending to donate this quilt to charity.

At the time that I started this quilt top I was part of a Do.Good.Stitches group and we were donating quilts to an organization that rescues young women from human trafficking. I’m no longer part of the group and the group no longer donates to that organization. I need to find another place that takes quilts without a size restriction!

There is progress in other areas as well. I finished another belated baby gift this week.  Also, sorting and organizing our bookcases felt really good. I found an app called Libib where you can scan the ISBN code (if it has one – or manual enter all the info) and keep track of all your books (and music and movies too!). If you are willing to pay for the pro version you can even keep track of loaning materials to friends.  It’s made me think twice about which books I really want to keep.

Have a great weekend!

Save

Save

Save

§ 11 Responses to Any measurable progress is good, right?

  • I love what you did with this quilt! It’s gorgeous!

  • quiltfairy33 says:

    Your color choices are fabulous! So, so pretty.

  • aquilterstable says:

    This turned out beautifully! As you know, the circle is now donating locally to each quilter. I’m sending 2 this week to Valley Breast Center in Renton, who gives quilts to woman facing breast cancer surgery. If per chance that interests you, let me know – if not, that’s ok too!

  • Roxanne says:

    This is a beautiful quilt! Color, design, fabrics all used to great effect!

  • Misty says:

    I really love how this turned out! Nice block arrangement and pretty fabrics!

  • daisyandjack says:

    really pretty quilt – love how you’ve arranged the HSTs !

  • Very pretty, Anita. Not much that’s more fun than playing with HST. And yes, any measurable progress is good, especially if you’ve been struggling a bit.

    Library: it’s time for me to update my excel sheet of books. Thanks for the reminder. And yes, it does help focus on which books to keep and which can go!

  • Edie says:

    I like your quilt! It is so colorful. Congratulations on finishing one…

  • Wow, this is so pretty, good for you finishing! Is Merry Mayhem still doing their New Year’s mysteries? I did one in 2010 and had so much fun with it. Top’s done and on my ‘to be quilted’ list. Nice you’re organizing, too….I just started a brand new to-do list, thought if I start fresh my priorities will change and maybe I’ll actually get something done 😉

  • Christine H Gowing says:

    I’m smiling cause you are sewing!

  • katechiconi says:

    Hello, I just found this beautiful quilt on Pinterest, and once I’d scanned a few more posts it was clear I was going to Follow you. Lovely to find a maker who is still blogging; too often I see something I love, only to find they’ve stopped posting a year or two ago, or only put something up every 6 months. Love your work, keep it up!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Any measurable progress is good, right? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

