Hello friends,

May 16, 2017 § 18 Comments

Tap, tap, tap.  Anyone out there? Does anyone read blogs anymore?  I’m just wondering… I haven’t been able to keep up.  School sucked all the energy out of me this last year.

Here it is summer again.  My list of things I want to accomplish is a mile long!  I have missed my sewing machine. You can imagine.

The first thing I did after the semester finished was to design this row called “Tree Farm” for my local quilt shop, Gathering Fabric. The shop is participating in the Row by Row Experience for the third year.  They always have so much fun playing with the themes.  This year’s theme is “On The Move” and reflects the agricultural aspect of Woodinville’s Sammamish Valley.  I hope you get a chance to stop by and participate in the Row by Row Experience.

Slowly, I am getting into a groove and hope to finish a bunch of UFO’s that have been languishing in my closet. This was my design wall last week. Upper left is The Local, a BOM through Intrepid Thread. I think I am more than a year behind!

Below that are some pinwheel blocks that I started over Christmas break. Below that are some U.S. Map blocks using up some scraps from the Deco State fabrics designed by In The Beginning a couple of years ago.

In the upper right is Fly Away Home, a BOM that I designed for Richla of Got Kwilts and Ellen of the Grip & Stitch Discs for free-motion quilting.  The BOM will be ending later this summer and I want to try my hand at self-publishing a booklet. Keep your eyes open for more info on that.

What have you been up to?

Save

Save

§ 18 Responses to Hello friends,

  • Anne Wiens says:

    I’m here!

    Love your tractor RxR block. I’m working on one for my local shop. Trains are big here, so we’re going with “All Aboard!”

  • Roxanne says:

    I’m out here! Glad to see your post so full of good stuff!
    I still love reading blogs and look forward to reading about your summer projects. The tractor row you designed is really cute!

  • sewkatiedid says:

    Oh I love those maps!

  • NRicncy Richwine says:

    Hi Anita, Love your tractor row. It sounds like you have a lot of irons in the fire. Hang in there. It’s one day at a time.

  • Penny G says:

    Still read blogs, but the quilting has been a little spotty.

  • quiltfairy33 says:

    It’s fun to see what you’ve got in the works. Your tree farm row is super cute, I love it!

  • Yes I’m still here too but a bit remiss about updating my blog too, tend to use instagram more these days. Love the row by row design!

  • erin says:

    nice to hear from you! i feel like i am in the same boat – spent most of the winter and spring writing a book and just now surfacing to half-completed projects and a long wish list of things to sew.

  • I’m still here! It’s great to see you. Hope you are well.

    I read and I write, but a little more erratic about both, and feeling like it’s hard to keep up. The daily crazy news is pretty time-sucking, as well as parts of my personal life.

  • Still reading, love your projects! I am also working on UFO’s. They were starting to take over my sewing space!

  • Lynn S. in Texas says:

    So glad you are back!

  • I love your row! It would be great to see the finished quilt when this wraps up. This is such an inspiring design wall, I hope you can get back to these projects. I’ve been mostly working on UFOs. I do still read my favorite blogs but sadly, people don’t blog as much as they used to. I know it’s a huge commitment and time consuming. Nice to see your post today 🙂

  • audrey says:

    Love the US maps blocks! And yes, there are still a bunch of us still reading blogs.:) It’s a slower pace than Facebook and Instagram, but seems to suit some of our personalities! Glad to see you back for a post!

  • quiltingmod says:

    Your Tree Farm row is great. Best of luck with the UFOs.

  • Janet Bolz says:

    Hi Anita! Glad to see this post and hear what you have been up to this past year!!!! Sounds quite eventful! Inger and I have enjoyed sewing the fly away home quilt this winter. Looking forward to seeing the finished design. Warm thoughts to you! Xoxo Sent from my iPhone

    >

  • Oh my goodness! Your “On the move” row is adorable! I always love seeing a post from you pop up :o) I’m not up to much sewing at all right now because we are actually gearing up to move – I can hardly believe it. After a solid year of watching our home being built it seemed like this time would never arrive. But – as soon as we get settled in I plan on beginning a quilt or my son and his fiance’ as a wedding present. I’m debating if I should pick the pattern and colors, or if I should let them choose…

  • Paula P says:

    Love the tractor row by row

  • Marsha says:

    Yes, I love to read blogs and I follow you on IG. You inspired me to buy a ‘Sew Perfect Table’ after reading about yours. Also, I live in Portland and love visiting Washington so your writing is interesting in so many ways. I’m just not good at writing comments, but will try to write more often so you know your audience is listening.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hello friends, at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

