Good-bye summer, hello autumn

August 25, 2015 § 9 Comments

steam-punk-parts
For some, school has already started. But for some of us around here, school starts next week. I miss the change of seasons that comes with school starting (or ending).  I miss the anticipation and unrestrained excitement over a new box of crayons.  At our house we live that autumnal, back-to-school anticipation vicariously through others.

But, maybe, what replaces that back-to-school excitement, for me, is the start of a new project.  Yet I can’t seem to finish the old ones!  Argh!  I think I need deadlines, or grades, or something… or someone to keep tabs on me. I have not finished one thing yet this summer. Not one.

Above is my stack of Steam Punk parts all cut out and ready to sew should I ever get the motivation or time to work on them.  And below… are the really old paper pieced string blocks for a Liberated Wedding Ring quilt with some of my scraps. I thought I had lost them. But now they are found!

Wouldn’t it be fun to have a huge space to dump out all of our scraps and we could all get together and sew all day long with them?  Anybody have a barn or a warehouse that I could rent for cheap?  Joking… Not Joking. Seriously…  I would love to rent some studio space… cheap.  I can’t afford real warehouse space. But I keep dreaming of a way to make it happen.

liberated-wedding-ring-parts

So… I just felt the need to check in here even though I have very little to report.  I’m slowly quilting the Mini Heart quilt for Do.Good.Stitches.

I’m waiting for our new washer & dryer to arrive. It has been back-ordered for almost a month.  Our current machine can only handle 1 or 2 loads a day or it just decides to randomly stop.

We have also been eating a modified Whole30 diet for the month of August, which takes a lot of extra time to chop, prepare, and cook.  But most of my cravings have gone away. Now all that remains is the psychological aspect that popcorn & movies go together. I mean, what does one eat while watching a movie?  Carrot sticks & movies just don’t create the same mood. You know?

Ok. Enough rambling.  What does the end of summer look like at your end?

§ 9 Responses to Good-bye summer, hello autumn

  • Brenda says:

    Unfinished projects? I have 17 completed quilt tops; there were more, but I decided to take one project from “the pile” and complete it before starting a brand new one, back and forth; 7 quilts got finished this way, many of them ended up as gifts for a family reunion this summer. I still have the creative bug, anticipating and planning the next quilt, but tempered with seeing my other hard work completed! Feels great!

  • Izzy says:

    Nice fabrics. Im thinking of my favorite Fall movies, A bouquet of sharpened pencils🙂 You’ve Got Mail, Baby Boom, also Funny Farm yay

  • lornasimons says:

    love the idea of the pile of scraps, maybe have to try that and see what we come up with.

  • Pam says:

    No, no, no, end of summer – my favorite season – but what can you do? As I write this, a huge gust of wind came through my window and it had that unmistakable feel of fall. Oh well. I kind of like the idea of a huge scrap pile; maybe that is what fall is for!

  • Becky T Central Oregon says:

    For my “Back To School ” excitement 40 years after the fact I hit the back to school supply sales for my thrills!
    Graph paper journals for $1
    little portfolios with the inside pockets for .01 or .05 cents each(I use them for the pattern changes and color placement s or new designs I come up with)
    .25 cents for new box of Crayola crayons
    and so much more fun…. School glue and construction paper

  • karicornell says:

    I’m needing to begin a new project myself, and I agree that fall is the perfect time! Maybe just go with what inspires you in the moment…and if it’s a new project rather than the old, so be it. Love the fabrics in both the new project and the scrappy wedding quilt.

  • christine gowing says:

    Whole30, yea… it’s almost over!
    Carrots and a movie? Sounds pretty crunchy, if you know what I mean.
    I just slurp water, it makes such an interesting sound.

  • Juliann says:

    That Steam Punk is on my someday list too

  • Earline Egbert says:

    Lol. I enjoy the creative process – which pattern, choosing fabric from my stash, making the first block, deciding how big the finished quilt will be. If only my enthusiasm could continue ’til the quilt was finished!🙂

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Good-bye summer, hello autumn at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

