What if… ?

August 8, 2015 § 12 Comments

old-thread-top

I am immensly delighted at all of your answers to my previous questions about blogging!  There were SO many good thoughts & ideas!  Many of you see blogging as a quiet respite from your busy day.  They are a part of your daily routine.  You likened bloggers to the local columnist in a newspaper who would write about local and current ideas or activities.  Blogs are a place where you can learn something new and be inspired.  Many of you limit the types of social media where you want to be involved. And they help you connect with the world when you are stuck at home.  I truly Thank You for all your marvelous feedback!  You are inspiring me to make my blog a better place.

And since you gave such good feedback on that topic, I have another topic for you.  I often find myself wishing that I had more space for my quilting, among other things.  What if there was a place that you could go to that would meet those needs?  Would you be likely to use it?  Would you be willing to pay a small fee to use some studio space to meet those needs?

I’ve created a poll that lists some of the ideas that have been rolling around in my head. Feel free to leave additional comments as well as vote on the poll. You should be able to select all that are of interest to you.

doily

§ 12 Responses to What if… ?

  • Great follow-up questions Anita🙂

    I want to know more about the beautiful crochet in the last picture🙂

    • Anita says:

      It was a doily that I picked up at an antique shop a few years ago. There was a little more discussion about it on Flickr if you are interested.

      Vintage Doily

  • I’m very lucky to have ample space at home for my own work. If I want to get together with friends, we can schedule time (for free) at a local shop. If I wanted to photograph my quilts there, the owner would probably let me do that, too. This post of mine shows the place:
    https://catbirdquilts.wordpress.com/2015/07/22/trunk-show/

  • Amy L says:

    I am lucky to have a guild that hosts an annual retreat and a group of friends that goes on road trips to quilt. Plus, our church allows us to use the big halls for our quilting activities, so we use it for meetings, workshops and basting. I’m happy to be in such a creative and fertile environment.

  • nicolette says:

    I already gather with friends to finish projects, mainly charity quilts. I’m a member of a quilting Bee at my LQS and I meet a quilting friend once a month to work on smaller stuff and chat a lot about life in general. I’m happy to already have all of that.
    I would really love to learn using a long arm quilting machine and be able to rent one for quilting.

    • Anita says:

      We have a couple of shops that rent longarms, but the space where they are located is not the easiest to use. It is small, surrounded by fabric or not well maintained.

  • dorgoff says:

    i did vote but wanted to elaborate….i am inspired to purge my fabric stash, my tools and anything quilting to keep it all fresh. my quilting
    friends try to be frugal and gather in free or low cost venues….our
    retreats are an exception. purged items can be exchanged with friends or donated to the goodwill or for charity quilts. i’m liking a minimalistic
    approach these days…….less unfinished projects and focusing on
    one at a time…..its liberating.
    ps it was fun to see you in a recent magazine!

  • I see after voting that the top item is also the most popular. That’s the one I chose, too, and although I’m fortunate to have a nice room for quilting/sewing, I’d love to rent a large space with giant tables just for a day. Sometimes I need a table larger than my cutting table (which usually isn’t as tidy as I’d like it).
    I love both your photos, the threads are awesome (I also have a collection of wood spools/threads, many from my mom, others from my early sewing days. I love all the printing, especially ’30 cents’. The crochet looks beautiful too….more about that please🙂

    • Anita says:

      Yes, I was thinking quilt basting or just space to spread out to organize & work on a big project. Sometimes I take up half the house. 🙂

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading What if… ? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

