A Hera what?

August 6, 2015 § 29 Comments

hera-marker

Over the years I may have tried nearly every way of marking a quilt in preparation to quilt it.  Disappearing ink pens, tissue paper, masking tape, chalk pencils and more.  But I have come to the conclusion that I really don’t like using most of those.  If I must mark, then I most often use a Hera Marker.  I am in love!  Have you used one of these before? They do come in different sizes and shapes.  I have another one that is smaller than this.  They look sort of like a bone paper folder or scorer if you are a scrapbooker or book maker.

hera-+-ruler

What it does is leave a crease in the fabric that washes away without leaving any trace of the previous marking.  It’s almost like pressing a crease in a pair of pants only in reverse. The sharp edge of the curved point can be run along the edge of a ruler, or cardboard or even used free-hand.  It leaves an indent in the fabric that you can follow for machine quilting.  It can be a little hard to see on busy or heavily patterned fabric. But it works super duper great on solids!  Here I am marking 1″ from the last quilting line or 1 1/4″ from the seam edge.

quilt-marking

I’m trying to finish up this quilt so that I can free up my pins to pin baste the do.good.stitches quilt waiting in the queue.  Or at least finished enough so that I have sufficient pins to baste that quilt next.

And finally… when do you like reading blogs?  In the morning?  At night?  Or are blogs falling from favor?  Lately I’ve been having a hard time mustering up the energy to blog. But maybe my rib accident & the hot weather has had something to do with that? Do you read many blogs anymore?  I know my own blog reading has shrunk over the last couple of years.  I’m just curious what the rest of you think.

On another note. It rained hard last night. Hurray!  I think our hot & dry summer trend has finally been broken.  It feels like the good ol’ Pacific Northwest again!  I’m ready for the rains to return. And then maybe my quilting mojo will return as well?

§ 29 Responses to A Hera what?

  • Brenda says:

    I like your blog. I learn new things. I am inspired. Please continue.

  • I have several blogs that I read regularly, every post unless life has me distracted. Yours is one I look fwd to. I enjoy your mix of sewing lessons, pattern sharing, tools snd products you like, keeping us up to date on your current projects, and everyday life. I would surely miss it if you stopped writing, so please keep it up! Thanks for all your past and future posts🙂

  • I should add, I also don’t follow as many blogs as I used to, I’ve kept my favorites and have let the others go. I usually read blogs in the morning.

  • Joy says:

    I love reading blogs, but not just any blog. It has to be inspiring or full of tips and techniques focusing on blogs about longarm quilting. I sit down with my coffee every morning and learn something new everyday.

  • Susan says:

    The demise of the blog seems a real thing. I also lamented recently the lack of readership and comments. The trend towards the instantaneous nature of IG seems to be part of the reason. However I still love blogs and will continue to blog and read others!

  • britt says:

    I still read most in the morning and early evening. I still love blogs but most people have either given up or made them a whole business

  • Debbie says:

    I love my hera too – my favorite way to mark. And keep blogging! I think we’ll outlive the current trend. At least I hope so. I think I probably follow as many blogs as ever, though I categorize them in bloglovin, so if I run out of time, I read my ‘must reads’ and let others go till next time. I DO love blogging tho and sure don’t want to quit any time soon. Oh, and I mostly read them in the morning or at night, as I work during the day….

  • Linda says:

    Hi Anita, I love your blog and would miss reading all your inspiring projects and little things in your life ( pets included of course). Please continue if you can. Read in evening. Thank you.

  • Jenny M says:

    I still read blogs..in my lunch break & in the evening. It is a great way to be inspired by the items people make & to keep informed with new patterns, fabrics and sometimes learning about the country that other bloggers live in.
    Thank you for sharing your blog with us.

  • Robyn says:

    I love blogs and don’t like Facebook. I look forward to reading them . I find Facebook disjointed maybe I just don’t look at it properly

  • nicolette says:

    I love my Hera marker too!
    I’m still reading blogs, but less than I used to. I always read in the early mornings, while having my breakfast. I’ve become an IG fan, something I never would have thought possible. I’m still writing blogposts myself, mainly to keep track of my sewing projects. Visitors and commenters have become less. I started my blog 8 years ago and so much has changed. Most bloggers I know from the early days have made quilting into a business or they have given up.

  • audrey says:

    I haven’t quite got the hang of using the hera marker yet. Will have to try it out on something ‘calmer’ and see if it works better for me. I read the blogs I follow mostly early in the mornings and late at night. I love the blogs for the information, inspiration and the conversation. It’s too much for me to keep up with all the social media, so I’ve limited mine to Blogging. Guess if it goes away, then I’ll have to do something different.:)

  • audrey says:

    p.s I meant to say that your blog is always a fave! Please don’t quit.:)

  • Kathy in FL says:

    I read the blogs I follow twice a day, first thing in the morning (with my coffee) and in the late afternoon before I make dinner (kind of my wind down after a busy day). I have family on FB, so I check that once a day, too.

    I’ve used a hera to mark a few of my quilts, but I actually prefer using paper tracings. Sometimes I use tissue paper, but my favorite paper to use is waxed paper because I can see through it.

    • Kathy in FL says:

      I should have also mentioned that the only thing I’ve found that writes on wax paper is a white-board marker. Or you could scratch the design on the paper with the point of a seam ripper, but sometimes that is hard to see when doing the actual quilting.

  • Misty says:

    I like using the Hera marker too! My other favorite marking tools are chalk pencils and water soluble markers.
    I wonder about blogging, too. I still love reading blogs every day and so feel compelled to post on my own blog but It is time consuming and I find lately that I would rather post on Instagram because people actually comment there.

  • Sigi G says:

    I love quilting blogs and have several that I follow. I usually rise early and love this quiet time; it also motivates me when I see what others are busy working at. Thank You for sharing about the Hera marker. I find the ‘quilting’ stage is my least favorite part of quilting – and am always especially happy when it is finished and I can sew the next quilt top again :)!!

  • Amy L says:

    I found your blog last year, and promptly added it to my Bloglovin feed. Reading blogs is like getting a letter in the mail. I so look forward to the next post. I read them in clips as there is time in the day. Thanks for a wonderful place to sojourn.

  • I love reading blogs first thing in the morning and last thing at night. Although I’ve narrowed it down to my favourites and tastes I always love reading something new. This is the first post of yours that I have read! And after learning something really useful that I can try using my bone folder, I will definitely be back for more. I’m stuck at home all day with a disability and craft blogs keep me productive and sane. Even when I’m in agony I can still achieve something. I use IG but in a different way, more for inspiration than in depth knowledge. So thank you for your wonderful post🙂

  • Debby McCarter says:

    I read in the morning, usually. I’ve always enjoyed your blog. I use The Old Reader.

    I love the quilt in the photo! The colors and crispness speak to me🙂

  • Sara says:

    i read my blog feed in the morning when I let my dogs out and am waiting for them to come back in, or while I eat breakfast. It’s true, there’s not as much to read these days. I am a very reclusive person, and I find they are like talking to a friend on the phone. My favorite these days is Jean in Edinburgh, an 83-year-old who writes every morning about her mundane day. If she skips a day, her followers are terrified she’s died, so she warns us if she might be busy or traveling the following day. I also adore the Yarn Harlot, and Mr. Money Mustache is interesting and thought-provoking. Then there’s some (I think they are called) Tumblr feeds: batixa and Quilter’s Pastiche and National Geographic’s Shot of the Day. I hate FB, although that’s how I communicate with my deaf daughter. And I don’t get Instagram. I love Pinterest, though.

  • Becky T Central Oregon says:

    By cup of tea (or glass of ice tea this summer) and my favorite list of blogs get me going each morning… Then I use a bit of self discipline and do not go back tot hem until the next morning.
    I do not do Facebook or instagram or tweet or texting or any of that but do enjoy reading the blogs each morning.

  • Kim Kingston-Durgin says:

    I read blogs throughout the day. I read them after I complete a task a two or when I am waiting for a load of laundry to be completed. I don’t instagram or tweet. I text only family members or close friends. (I live with teenagers and this is the only way to get meaningful communication). I facebook when I have to, as I do have friends who adore that platform, though I find it the electronic equivalent of the bulletin board in a small town grocery store. I could get lost for days in Pinterest.

    Blogs that have survived their first year tend to be well written and informative. Blogs used to chronicle the daily activities/ challenges of life with a focus on sewing or quilting draw my attention. Our local newspaper is collapsing, so for me, blogs take the place of the columnists who wrote about daily life.

    Will blogs go away? No, I don’t think so. I think blogs are for the literate with an attention span bigger than a gnat.

    A good blog posts take more energy to compose than an instagram, tweet or facebook entry. You have a life to live as a mom, wife and quilter. The quantity of blog entries will vary due to the other demands in your life, as it should. I am thankful that you have found the time to share your life with us, your readers.

  • Karen says:

    I’m a big fan of Hera markers too. And I still read blogs, whenever I can find a minute.

  • I am a blogger and blog reader and expect that to continue. But I try to be careful how I spend my time, so I’ve stopped following some. I’m not on Instagram and can see how it’s attractive to many. But I’ve never followed blogs that were primarily about photos. I want to know HOW and WHY and WHAT? I want the story behind the picture. And when I write, that’s what I try to give. Heavens, some of my posts don’t have ANY pix!🙂

  • Anita what surface do you put your quilt on to use the Hera marker? I’m always afraid I’ll damage my wood tables by pressing hard, and my cutting mat seems annoying to use because I have to keep moving it if I’m marking a long line.

    I’m thinking my Hera marker is not large enough – it’s a Clover but not nearly as solid looking as yours…wonder if that makes a difference in how well they work? I just can’t seem to feel like mine is worth using.

    I don’t really have any set time/place I read blogs. I used to read them on Friday evenings before we would watch a movie, but now it’s mostly just when I have a few minutes here and there.

  • Christina says:

    Thank you! I’ve always been curious as to how that tool works. I mostly used my Frixion pen for quilt marking.

    I found myself mostly posting about by cats, gardening, and quilting on Facebook, then found that my viewers probably didn’t care too much… So I decided to close my Facebook and start a blog! I enjoy sharing techniques and inspiration to those with the same interests🙂

    I have my favorite blogs sent as email notification and then I work on reading through them over the weekends starting with the oldest.

    Great post! I enjoyed reading through the comments as well🙂

  • I love my hera marker too. I tend to read blogs in the evenings & have been following yours since I discovered it 5 years ago & hope you keep going.

  • Ellen Thompson says:

    I use a hera marker more than any other marking tool.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Hera what? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

