Sew together, stay together

July 20, 2015 § 10 Comments

sew-together-front

A friend of mine asked me when I was going to blog again. She said that Charlie was cute, but……. she needed something new to look at. Haha!  He is pretty cute, but I can understand needing a change of scenery.

Not much has been going on around here.  Or at least nothing very blog worthy. My rib is getting better every day. Nearly well, in fact.  Now, if the weather would cool off a little!  It has been the hottest, driest summer I can remember since moving here.  If we don’t get out and do something early in the morning, well, we just don’t do much.
sew-together-side

I haven’t been doing much sewing either.  What is wrong with me? I had big plans to get so many things done this summer. And since our bicycle crash… Nothing.

Although, when my friend, Letty, received a Sew Together Bag in a swap, I was finally bitten by the bug to make one for myself.  I can see now why people have been so excited about this bag. It’s pretty easy to make and so fun to use!
sew-together-top

I used fusible fleece instead of interfacing for the outside, which made the binding a teeny bit harder to apply.  And the only thing I wish I would have done differently is to buy a longer zipper for the outside. Maybe that would allow the bag to open up just a bit more. Other than that, I am quite happy with this little bag.

It’s now keeping together the parts to a new English paper piecing project. Because… you just can have too many WIP’s, right?

 

§ 10 Responses to Sew together, stay together

  • karicornell says:

    Love this…and I’m glad you’re sewing again. I totally understand those creative droughts!

  • Cute bag Anita🙂 At some point I think I’d like to give this bag a try. This summer I’m trying to maintain a razor sharp focus on finishing up Faith Circle quilts. Then, the Random Sampler is on my mind🙂

  • Hi Anita. So glad to hear you’re finally feeling well enough to sew again. This bag is really great….looks like one I should have🙂 Love that rabbit print!

  • Lettyb says:

    Your bag is adorable! But I think you should put Charlie and Stella in every post🙂

  • Jannie says:

    I’m glad your rib is getting better. I missed seeing you Saturday but hope you had a good day in your sewing room. This bag is so cute and looks like the perfect companion for a paper piecing project! Bless you!

  • I am happy to read the rib is healing. To be in pain, plus hot from these horrible summer temps is too much!😉 I love your bag~ perfect fabrics! I am working on the somewhat larger Gear Bag. Hope to finish soon. Have a great week!

  • I love the look of these little zippy bags. And of course you can NEVER go wrong with something that’s perfect for EPP!

  • christine gowing says:

    Nice job!
    Ribs,heat or gardening, didn’t stop YOU!
    Creatively, still spills out of you.

    (I have a bunny love)

  • tomthesnail says:

    Wow – that looks so … neat and professional! I love (buying &) making gift bags and have branched out into pencil cases but they don’t look as smart. All those zips😀 I’m tempted!😀 TTS

  • Viv says:

    Gorgeous sew together bag Anita. I’ve made 3 now and the last one used a much longer zip and have to say it opens flat, which I like. It’s a great pattern.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sew together, stay together at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

