Oh baby, baby!

May 12, 2015 § 13 Comments

farm-friends-quilt

Some dear friends recently added a baby boy to their family. And when I saw this quilt made up in a local quilt shop I just couldn’t resist making it for them. The fabric is just SO stinkin’ cute!  And it reminds me of my roots, growing up on a farm in Iowa.

The fabric is from Studio E and called Farm Friends.  The center of the quilt is a book panel that is cut apart and sashed with coordinating fabric.  The pattern is free.  I couldn’t find it on the Studio E web site but did find it over at Fabric Depot.

farm-friends-panel

farm-friends-cat

The way that the sashing is cut to frame the book panels is goofy. It wastes some extra fabric. But it works. I recalculated the math so that it didn’t waste so much fabric.  In addition, the shop where I purchased the kit gave extra yardage beyond the pattern requirements. So much so that I was able to piece it all together for the backing.  I love the back as much as I love the front!  And look!  There is a black “Charlie” cat in the story that is making me grin.

farm-friends-back

§ 13 Responses to Oh baby, baby!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oh baby, baby! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

