Fabric by day, yarn by night

April 24, 2015 § 6 Comments

Owls-close

Owls-sweater

By day I may play with fabric. But at night the yarn is calling my name. A few months ago I finished this Owls sweater (Ravelry link) and have been wearing it ever since. I had made it once before in a different yarn that didn’t wear very well. And I realized that the back shaping of the pattern didn’t suit my body shape. So, on this sweater I moved the shaping to the sides like the sweater vest I picked up in Iceland.

icelandic-vest-close

icelandic-vest

This Icelandic vest (Ravelry link) I finished knitting earlier this week. I have loved wearing the one from Iceland so much that I wanted to knit another for myself. It’s perfect for our dreary weather. It is a free pattern straight from the Lopi web site.  Today, it is cold & raining so I am going to wear it!

red-riding-hood-parts

Yesterday I had a crochet fest and worked on this adorable Red Riding Hood outfit for My Crochet Doll that I couldn’t resist making for my great niece. But crocheting is a lot more hand & wrist movement than knitting. My hands ached by the end of the day. Hand & wrist exercises, anyone?

Like quilting, this is just a sampling of my many UFO’s.  Oh how I wish I could constrain my many projects a little more!  But, I am working on reducing the many piles. It sure does take time to whittle them down!  My personal goal (and my hubby is also on board with this across the whole house) is to reduce & simplify.  Awhile ago I joined a local Buy Nothing group where trades, give-aways, and requests are shared so that we all can reduce the things we need to buy.  My no-longer-used item may be just what someone else has been looking for.  It’s a great way to make use of things long after you are done using them.

§ 6 Responses to Fabric by day, yarn by night

  • Linda Blum says:

    Hi Anita – have you tried the rubber ball exercises that were shown on the Lion’s Brand website a while ago? The demonstrator had very bad knitter’s hands and she said it helped her a lot. I have my ball with me as we are travelling down the road and it seems to be helping. Good luck! I hate the idea of you slowing down your stitches.
    Linda

  • These are such beautiful projects, all! Your great niece is going to love the little doll, too. If I had the green sweater at the top, I’m sure that would be my ‘go-to’ the minute it comes out of the laundry. So sorry about your hands….I do understand and rarely crochet anymore, but may try the ball exercises Linda mentioned.

  • bermudagirl says:

    Oh I am so jealous Anita, your work is soooooo gorgeous and I would die for that olive green sweater.

  • Lettyb says:

    You’re always totally inspirational to me. You’re one of the few people that I want to copy regularly. Love your work on all things! Lovely photos too. x

  • I’m a Anita wanna-be. Like Letty said, you are inspirational.
    Plus, I know you have a green thumb, to boot!

  • I love it when bloggers who I normally thing of as “quilters” show us their other crafts, too! Beautiful sweater!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fabric by day, yarn by night at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

