Two Sides of the Random Sampler

March 20, 2015 § 6 Comments

Random-Sampler-Side-2

Hooray!  I finished the second side of my Random Sampler. This section consists of two original Sampler blocks, some leftover blocks and few new blocks.  I thought it might loosely follow a textile theme like the first side was loosely a garden theme.  But you would really have to stretch your imagination to link all the blocks to textiles.  No matter! This is what I ended up with.

  • a Squash Blossom block
  • a Spools block – arranged as an “X” instead of the traditional layout
  • some mini spools that sort of look like a variation of the attic window block
  • a couple of 4-patch blocks with leftover squares from another project
  • some more square-in-a-square blocks leftover from my Merry Merry Snowmen redo
  • a couple of leftover blocks from my Modern Chain quilt. They look a little bland so I might add some embroidery to these as well.
  • a leftover block from a baby quilt that was gifted last summer.

Random-Sampler-label-block

I’m going to use the leftover baby quilt block as the quilt label. I just haven’t put anything in the center of the block yet.  But I am envisioning a wee bit of embroidery to fill up all that white space.

It’s going to take a little more time than I had originally planned to finish up the 3rd and 4th sides . But I am please to see this coming together. Finally.  Hooray for all of you that are also making progress on your Random Samplers!

Random-Sampler-1-2

§ 6 Responses to Two Sides of the Random Sampler

  • Woo Hoo Anita!! It’s looking great🙂 mine is making progress in my mind if not actually on my machine. While I work on quilting the two “must get these finished” quilts I’m mulling over my Random Sampler…my brain loves it🙂

  • Lizzie says:

    Oh! I haven’t seen the whole evolution of this, but I really love your chosen palette! Now, I’ll have to go back in the posts and catch up….

  • Love watching your quilt shape up, Anita! My quilt (like Debbie’s) is in my head, but I’ve also stitched a few new blocks. It’s good I’m not rushing to finish it because I’ve changed my mind a couple of times on how to continue. I think I have it now…. 🙂

  • diane says:

    I’m enjoying seeing this come together. It’s so pretty!

  • When I read this post I kept singing,
    “She’ll be coming around the mountain when she comes…”

  • Lotje says:

    Love to see how it alters and changes and how it comes together, very dynamic. Very beautiful how the diamond blocks are on both sides, but together on this side and distributed on the other, I love that. And also the way the baskets swing around!!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Two Sides of the Random Sampler at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

