Modern Building Blocks

February 20, 2015 § 7 Comments

MBB-Jan-Feb-Mar-Apr

I have become a very lazy blogger. Therefore, I am giving myself a goal to post something at least once a week. Anything! Something!

So…. this is a little bit of the sewing that I have been doing. My local quilt shop is making Moda’s Modern Building Blocks quilt as a block-of-the-month in prints, instead of solids.  And I have been making the sample blocks each month.  I have really been enjoying these blocks! Above is the first four months worth of blocks.  We are breaking each section in half to spread it out over the entire year.

January blocks

January blocks #8, #19, #44 and #12

MBB-February

February blocks #41, #39, #20, #42, #10 and #17

March blocks

March blocks #6 and #5

MBB-April

April block #1

MBB-trimmed

As I have been making these blocks, I’ve decided that it is worth the extra effort to trim off all the points.  It just seems to make them sew together better.  That is a whole topic in itself for another day.  But suffice it to say, that as fussy as it seems, it is worth the effort to cut off those scraggly points.

MBB-HST

For the half-square triangles I have been using this 8″ Bias Square ruler. I have no idea when or why I bought this ruler, but it’s in with my basket of other rulers so I may as well use it!  There are lots of other brands that also square up half-square triangle blocks.

MBB-point-trimmer

And for the points on 90-degree triangles I have have been using the Precision Trimmer that I picked up with my Star of Chamblie kit.  That was going to be my winter project but I haven’t yet had the time or energy to dig into it.  Again, there are lots of rulers out there that trim a variety of points.

So many projects…  I did clean up my sewing room today in anticipation of a little free-motion quilting.  Stay tuned for some finished projects in the near & far future.

§ 7 Responses to Modern Building Blocks

  • Oh, those colors just make me melt! What a fabulous collection of blocks. I agree about trimming those ‘dog ears’ as you go (and why do they call them dog ears…they look more like cat ears). Nice you’re blogging again, looking fwd to future installments🙂

  • Robin says:

    So fun! I signed up for that one, but have only managed to finish one block so far (they aren’t kidding when they say “Skill Builder”– it took some time!). Seeing yours is very inspiring. Hopefully I can get into my quilt cave this weekend for a bit.🙂

  • I’m guessing this will all go together into a quilt, so I find the colors interesting. Unrelated to the nearest block, but they seem bright and crisp and work well together. Makes me think about my UFO’s and how I could take one large 36″ piece and add a sampler of blocks “around it” to give it something of usable size. This will be interesting to follow as you go along. Enjoyed the photos.

  • I’m living vicariously through you!
    Oh the colors… the colors, the colors. Wonderful!

  • You’re not lazy, you’re just busy sewing! Love your colors. Excited to see it all come together, even if it is just one post a week.

  • magistra13 says:

    I Love that quilt and really love your blocks for it! Someday! It’s on my list🙂

  • Lettyb says:

    Such lovely work as usual. I haven’t wanted to make this quilt, but I’m so happy to be seeing it grow and feel awfully tempted when I see your blocks.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Modern Building Blocks at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

