Another year

January 5, 2015 § 4 Comments

merry-mayhem-gone-awry
Have you been assessing last year and making goals for next year? Me neither. Well, not to the extent that I did last year.  I did, however, make a list of most of my projects, both in progress and stalled.  Something happened yesterday that gave me the courage to finally face it all.  I’m neither feeling overwhelmed nor ambitious. It just is what it is.  I’m taking stock, I guess.  I’m hoping that is a good thing. Admitting the problem is the first step, right?

merry-mayhem-HSTs

Last year was quite a year.  From losing my mom, to gaining a beautiful friend, then my oldest friend moving away and my health has been a yo yo between my thyroid disease and the chronic mono virus.  I think it is best to leave last year as it is, behind me, while only counting the good things that have come from it.

It was wonderful to unplug for the holidays.  But it makes it that much harder to start up with the routine again. I’m afraid it’s been a bit of slow start today.  But that’s okay.

gary-scrap-socks

A friend of mine says that each year a  word comes to her that seems to be the new focus.  If I were to take note in my life I think the new theme may be watch and pray.  I don’t spend time much time here talking about my faith. But it is, never-the-less, the underlying constant that takes me through this life.  I feel more introspective this year. More calm and less scattered.  It will be interesting to see what comes from 2015. 2015!!

puffin-socks

I read an article not too long ago that talked about the “turn of the century.” My mind automatically went to 1899-1900.  But we are living through a turn of the century.  It’s so odd to think about that.  I wonder what my grandparents or great-grandparents thought as they faced the same more than a hundred years ago.  Weird.  So I guess I will leave you hanging there.  Ha! Where will the next 100 years take us?

** By the way, the photos above are in order of appearance… Plan B of the Merry Mayhem New Year’s Day mystery quilt gone awry, sewing the HST’s from the Merry Mayhem mystery quilt, Gary’s scrap socks and my Puffin socks, both finished over the holidays.

§ 4 Responses to Another year

  • Love both those pairs of socks, such great yarns! Gone awry or not, I hope you’ll finish your mystery quilt, the colors are beautiful. Your post today, like many other blogs I’ve recently read, is very contemplative. The past year was challenging for so many people I know, and I’m hoping that 2015 will bring brighter days.

  • I, for one, love your Plan B to the Mystery Quilt…it looks vibrant and happy :o) Socks for you and Gary are always a fun treat…great to use up yarn on his and wow that’s wild & fun yarn on your pair!

    On to the sharing of faith…I’ve been mulling over how I do/don’t share my faith. When judgement day comes will people I know say…you knew and you never told me? I can’t bear to think of the crushing reality of this. Faith has always been a very personal thing to me and something I’ve kept quiet about. God’s Word tells us if we don’t praise Him the rocks will.

    I love to sew…and to craft…but more than anything else I want to hear those cherished words, “Well done good and faithful servant.” so as I have the opportunity I am going to try – without being obnoxious – to share the love and knowledge of God and Christ our Savior with those sweet people who share these same interests so that none of them will be able to say…you knew? And you never told me?

  • Lettyb says:

    Yes, another year and progress in some wonderful areas. You are such an ineffable blessing! I love your socks, your blocks and you!

  • Whiskers says:

    Ooooo, I’m glad to hear someone else didn’t like Plan A for Merry Mayhem. I have become leery of mystery quilts for this very reason, so I was glad I didn’t cut up all that fabric to have that disappointment to show for it. Didn’t cross my mind to do something else with it. Love your results. I’m still waiting to accomplish my first pair of socks.
    Faith? I’m a rather quiet apostle.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Another year at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

