Changing seasons

November 11, 2014 § 5 Comments



I’m longing to switch gears and head in a different direction, quilt-wise. I’ve been pondering this for some time. But a conversation with a friend last week was just what I needed to push me into action. Over the last couple of years I have been slowly cutting back on my extra freelance work. But now I feel the need to stop it all together.

Why do I do what I do?  What is my own personal style? What would it look like if I tried this idea that has been floating around in my head? These are some of the questions I’ve been asking myself. And while I’ve been pondering the questions, I haven’t spent as much time as I would like exploring the answers.  I see other people getting to play around with the same ideas that have been floating around in my head but had no time to explore.

Quilting is a hobby for sure. But, it is not what makes my world go ’round. It’s not who I am. I couldn’t have said that 10 years ago.  But making things is certainly something that brings me joy & happiness.  It’s something that helps me process other parts of life while giving me time to just play. But when play turns to work some of that original enjoyment is lost.

Maybe that’s a contributing factor to why my blogging has been sparse lately. I’m also slowly working through my long list of UFO’s. I’m enjoying hand work more.  That’s a first for me!  And it’s a much slower journey towards completion than machine work.

As you can see, I’ve borrowed a few photos from Instagram again.  And the autumn colors of orange & gold have been on my mind. The dotty flying geese are a challenge project among 4 friends.  The big reveal is coming soon. I’d best get busy and finish it!

§ 5 Responses to Changing seasons

  • Wow, that top photo is stunning! I’m glad to read your post this morning and to hear that you’re following your heart. I’ve had times in my life where I got lost in making things for different reasons than just the joy of doing. We mustn’t forget how important that part is….for me, finding a way to blend it all together has been key, and still I have to work at that.
    Have fun and enjoy🙂

  • Sounds like you took “a step” and now you are going to see where you land. That is EXCITING!
    I’m your cheerleader!
    By the way, great pictures.

  • We make time for our highest priorities, whether we realize it or not. It sounds like your priorities are changing, and as such, so should your use of time, energy, and other resources. I go round and round on this for myself. If I get my priorities right, my balance is good. If my balance is good, my power is maximum. But yes, priorities change and can leave me feeling off-balance until I figure it out again. Follow your instincts here. You’re doing the right thing.

  • Sounds like some interesting times are afoot :o) Life does have it’s ebbs and flows. I hope you will take the time to explore what is floating around in your head, and work on things that interest and inspire you…even if they are a slower pace.

    About a year ago I was pondering if some involvement in the quilting world may be what I do when I wrap up my teaching career (I’ll have 30 years in our retirement system in 8 more years). I though possibly I could learn to long arm quilt…but I don’t think that’s going to happen. Then I thought maybe I could be creative and invent patterns. When I look at all of the patterns being churned out at lightening speed by others I don’t think the world really needs another pattern writer. Truly, my inner self does not feel like God is leading me in that direction, but I don’t know where I am being lead…which is not so very comforting.

    If I really look at what I enjoy it is hand work. I love the slow and gentle process…being able to sit beside my husband while I work on it. A friend of mine has be coming over to her house in two weeks to teach seven ladies how to make penny rugs/mats. This has me excited because I really do love to design and make them.

    Sorry to go on and on…I hope you enjoy your change of seasons. It’s beautiful to live in a world that does not always look the same :o)

  • Brenda says:

    I agree with not wanting the fun, the creative part of quilting to disappear. Thank you for putting it into words. I am inspired by some of you projects, like the squares from striped shirts. Thank you again.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Changing seasons at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

