The view from here

October 27, 2014 § 9 Comments

castle-quilt-front

castle-quilt-corners

castle-quilt-back

I’ve almost forgotten how to blog, it’s been so long.
The seasons keep changing.
November arrives at the end of this week leaving only two months left of this year.
It has gone by so fast!

A lot seems to have also changed.
My mom passed away last January.
My best friend moved away last month to care for her mother.
I’ve gained new friends that have become so dear so quickly.
The holidays will be different this year.

I’m declaring this last week of October UFO week to try and finish a few projects.
I’m trying to not do much of anything else but the bare minimum so that I can spend maximum time sewing.
It’s only Monday, but at the moment I’m feeling content about it all.

This quilt above was finished a week or so ago.
The blocks were made by the lovely ladies of the Faith Circle of Do.Good.Stitches.
The tutorial for the castle block is over here.
It will be sent to Restore Innocence, an organization that rescues girls from human trafficking.

The binding fabric came from my mom’s stash.
The backing fabric I found on sale at my local Ben Franklin and is quite wild.
I wish I lived somewhere exotic because it felt like this quilt needed to be photographed near a castle or a cathedral or some majestic building.
But I live in a suburb where there are no majestic buildings.
So my shed comes to the rescue again.
And the sun made a short appearance today among the rainy days of the season.

Have a lovely Monday!

§ 9 Responses to The view from here

  • susan says:

    i think your shed is a great photo spot. good luck getting your wips done

  • dorgoff says:

    i enjoy your blog and viewing your quilts, keep it up. i lost my mom nearly 2 years ago, its been brutal. i recently made a tribute quilt
    to her, it was her taste…….it was a wonderful therapy project for
    me……i recommend it. my life has changed.
    come up to bellingham to thrift shop…
    dorothy (your mom and i shared a table on lopez)
    take care.

  • Letty says:

    It’s a wonderful quilt! I’m excited to see what you manage to get done on the UFO list. This year has flow past but perhaps it’s just as well. here’s to an amazing 2015!

  • Mary Jo says:

    Your shed is a great show place for your quilt, which is very lovely. Glad to hear from you again and see your fine work.

  • My goals for this week include binding on 3 quilts, and labeling 2 others. I’m in a pretty slow mode, though, so it’s hard to tell what will happen.

    Take care of yourself. Sounds like you’re doing all the right things.

  • Renee says:

    Such a beautiful quilt!
    So very sorry to hear about your mom, my mom passed away this past January as well.

  • Jean says:

    OOOH, pretty quilt! Funny you say it’s UFO week. I just finished my Emma quilt from your pattern. Look for it soon!

  • Such a great pattern, and the colors are beautiful! Backing is perfect, and so is your mom’s binding print (looks like Kaffe). I love these blocks so much, I’ve been storing the idea in the recesses of my mind…just hope it doesn’t get lost back there🙂

  • nicolette says:

    Another gorgeous quilt!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The view from here at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

