Samurai Sewing

March 4, 2014 § 10 Comments

samurai-squares-partial

Time is flying by way too fast at the moment!  While I can see the light at the end of the tunnel with my freelance work, I decided that I needed to start interspersing some sewing time with my computer time.   You know… a little sewing as a reward for a little computer work.  I’ve made a few alphabet blocks from the Spell it with Fabric blog hop from Moda.  I’m working on my Do.Good.Stitches quilt.  And I today I dug out this quilt above.

This is a quilt that my mom had started but not yet finished.  I took it home with me when we were back home for her memorial service.  My sister-in-law and I suspect that she was making it for my youngest brother. (Don’t worry. He doesn’t read my blog so it will still be a surprise to him.) And so I wanted to finish it for him. I only have 18 more blocks to make and then assemble them into a quilt.

The pattern is Samurai Squares. The blocks are quite easy & fun to make. They are all from 2 1/2″ strips of fabric.  And I think it may be possible to make the throw size from a Jelly Roll plus some yardage for the accent color, setting triangles & borders.

It felt good to get back to the sewing machine.

How are you all doing?

§ 10 Responses to Samurai Sewing

  • I bet it makes you feel connected to your mom to finish her work :o) This will be such a blessing for your brother!

  • This is going to be such a beautiful quilt, and so appreciated by your brother….a bittersweet project in a way, but as Debbie said, a connection to your mom as you work. I made a wedding quilt for a friend years ago and she requested black, red and white. While not my usual color palette, I loved working with these colors and picked up additional fabrics to make another one🙂

  • Rebecka says:

    Beautiful post. It will be a special quilt!

  • Lovely quilt.. bittersweet sewing I’m sure, but what a treasure. (hugs)

  • Jeanie says:

    How wonderful that you can finish it! Enjoy that quiet time with your machine.

  • nicolette says:

    So wonderful that you are able to finish your Mother’s quilt! It will be so special and be cherished by your brother!

  • Joni says:

    Looks like a fun one for the 4th of July!!!! What a blessing, that you can finish it for your brother. He will surely cherish it. Thank you for sharing.

  • Lotje says:

    Very special sewing I imagine. And a very graphical design it makes! Talent sure runs in the family!

  • Linda says:

    What a special connection to your Mom. Such memories of all the happy times you shared. I’m sure your brother with treasure it. I’m working on a black,white & red divided nine patch right now too.Those colors make such a cheerful quilt.

  • Andrea says:

    This is really strong and gorgeous and a treasure for you to have. I am still grieving my mother’s death. She was not a quilter but she was working on a baby quilt when I was born a month prematurely. She never finished it and I didn’t even know about it until she gave it to me a couple years ago, still on the embroidery hoop. I had forgotten until now about it and I need to dig it out. I look forward to seeing the finished samurai squares quilt. The b & w photo of your mother is lovely.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Samurai Sewing at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

