Christmas Memories

December 24, 2013 § 9 Comments

christmas-1964(originally posted in 2008)

According to the date on this photo, this was my second Christmas. I was about 15 months old. Most of our family photos are on slides so I don’t have many hard copy photos. I wish I had some pictures of the tall drifts of snow and our puffy snow suits. I have two younger brothers. We were the proverbial kids that had to go potty just as the last mitten and the last hat was put on.

I grew up on a farm in Iowa. I remember cold winters, curling up under wool blankets, and the wood stove in the kitchen where my dad would burn corn cobs. I also remember hearing the Barking Dogs Jingle Bells on the radio every Christmas. Probably the worst song ever. But as a kid I thought it was hilarious.

The best memory ever, though, is the Christmas Eve candle light service at church. Real candles were lit. I know… a fire hazard today and prohibited in many churches. At the end of the service all the lights in the church would be turned off and the only light came from the advent candle in the front. The ushers would light their candles from the advent candle and then start at the front of the church, lighting the candle of the first person in each row while working their way to the back. Then, that first person would light the candle of the person next to them. I would watch in amazement and wonder as the church went from almost completely dark to completely lit as the last person’s candle was lit. I don’t think there is any other Christmas memory as distinct as that one.

Merry Christmas to you & yours!

candle

§ 9 Responses to Christmas Memories

  • Susan says:

    Have a wonderful Christmas Anita!!!! many, many hugs…Susan

  • Lettyb says:

    That is a perfectly lovely picture you paint of your candle lit service. Christmas, and that story makes me think of John 1 “…The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” The birth of Christ is that light coming into the world – so the candle service is perfect. Thanks for this lovely post!
    -Letty

  • beth lehman says:

    i grew up singing silent night once the circle of light was made around the church… i remember the awe and the tears on faces as we sang. i still cry and most years we still do this in our church! merry christmas!

  • We have very similar memories. Change out Minnesota for Iowa and my five sisters and three brothers. Merry Christmas

  • Joyce says:

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful memories. Those slides can be put on a CD and then have photo’s printed. Merry Christmas Anita to you and yours. Thanks again for your help yesterday.

  • Peggy Paterchak says:

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane. Just wanted to let you know that I had probably 2000 slides from years WAY gone by. A friend and I purchased a “thingy” that you can put three slides into a tray, run them through the “thingy” and put them on your PC. It was the best $89 we spent. We have done, by now, probably 10,000 slides between us and some other friends who were in the same predicament. My slides were from the early 60s to the 80s probably. Now I can look at them online, OR make prints for my family and friends. Happy Holidays….Peggy

  • Jane says:

    We had candlelight communion Sunday night and it was lovely. Real candles. Merry Christmas!

  • mary says:

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year….Anita
    To you and your family
    Warmly, Mary

  • Mary Carroll says:

    We do this at St. Basil Greek Orthodox Christian Church – it is lovely!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Christmas Memories at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

