Thankful Thursday

November 7, 2013 § 4 Comments

ritzville

November is traditionally the month to give thanks. But it’s also something that I want to make a better effort at doing regularly, through the good times & the bad times.  Life is hard sometimes and it is good to focus on what we can be thankful for rather than the difficulties. The difficulties will pass even though in the midst of the moment it doesn’t always feel like it. This has come up a few times in conversations recently with friends and in things I’ve been reading. So here’s my first installment of Thankful Thursday.

This week I am thankful for being able to visit my hubby’s family, our rascal cats (love those guys even when they are naughty!), and this beautiful view we caught as we drove across the state last weekend.

– – – – – –

The photo above is just west of Ritzville, WA taken with my iPhone. (Click on the photo to see a larger version)  There was a sun break between showers & freezing rain as we were driving across the state last weekend. In my imagination this is what southern Italy might look like.  Someday we want to see Italy in the flesh.  My husband’s ancestors came from southern Italy.

§ 4 Responses to Thankful Thursday

  • I’m thankful for bloggers like you.🙂

    It’s a big deal to express gratitude “out loud.” My husband and I had an incredibly stressful year in 2012, for me especially. Though I knew many wonderful things had happened in the year, it was all shrouded in stress and pain. It was so hard to focus on the good long enough to embrace it. Toward the end of the year we found an old notebook and took to writing things down, things we’re grateful for. Some were monumental, and others were tiny and of the moment. By the end of the year we both felt better, and felt like we’d been able to come to terms with some of the obstacles we faced.

    Thanks for sharing and for reminding me of the healing power of gratitude.

  • leeAnn says:

    “Thankful Thursday” is a great idea. The other day, as I was free-motion quilting and having a moment of NOT enjoying it, something in me said, “This is really a privilege.” Oh yea, be thankful.

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    Thank you for sharing such a unique and beautiful picture :o) I love reading about Thankfulness…we all need to spend more time doing this. Every year at this time I am reminded so sweetly how thankful I am for our small, yet very warm and cozy, house. God has certainly blessed us by meeting our needs with overflowing abundance. We are blessed indeed.

  • jean says:

    We do have so much to be thankful for! And what a beautiful state we live in.🙂
    Btw, I’m starting a new project tomorrow. And it happens to be your Emma pattern. Tomorrow I’ll be posting what fabrics I’ll be using.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thankful Thursday at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

