Same quilt, different fabrics

October 10, 2013 § 4 Comments

Asteria-Red

My local quilt shop where I work recently started the Asteria Block-of-the-Month program.  It is a HUGE quilt and finishes at 106″.  Yikes!

We were talking about how to make this quilt in different fabrics and in a smaller size.  I think one of the challenges quilters face is how to envision any pattern in their own style.  For some reason, I LOVE this kind of challenge.  And I feel like it is my mission to help & encourage others to do the same.

michael-miller-pippa

This Pippa fabric from Michael Miller arrived at the shop while I was working and I fell in love with it. I haven’t totally decided on all of the fabrics I want to use yet, but I know I want to use this Pippa fabric and the one next to it which is Reminisce from Art Gallery Fabrics.  (I drew up the blocks in EQ to play around with color & fabric in the image at the top.)

So now I am off to make the quilt.  I guess this was the shot in the arm that I needed to find my way back to my sewing room.

Stay tuned…

§ 4 Responses to Same quilt, different fabrics

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Same quilt, different fabrics at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

