Using the uglies

October 1, 2013 § 6 Comments

rug-strips

I’ve been wanting to try braiding a rug for quite some time.  And when we swapped rooms for my sewing room, I sorted through my fabric & pulled a bunch that I wasn’t that fond of any more thinking that maybe it could be made into rugs one day.

It’s been more than a month since I’d been to my sewing group. So today I took my bag of 3″ strips and started sewing them together.  Maybe this will be a good evening in front of the fireplace project?

Here are some of my rug inspirations:

Rainbow Rug from t-shirts
Braided t-shirt rug
Crocheted rug
How to braid a rug
Braided rugs on Flickr

§ 6 Responses to Using the uglies

  • Some great inspiration pieces! A friend from many years ago had a room sized braided rug made from old wool clothing, utilitarian but still beautiful. I’m working on a locker hooked rug…and you’re right, it’s a wonderful way to use up those not so favorite fabrics.

  • Irene says:

    Great idea for the “what was I thinking?” fabrics resting in the stash. My Mom made wonderful braided rugs from our old woolen garments that were just gorgeous. Have seen at least 2 crocheted rugs made from recycled plastic bags and/or wrappers at the Puyallup Fair that were amazing in their planning and craftsmanship. Thanks for the reminders and inspiration shared. Keep us posted with your progress.

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    Looking forward to seeing some pictures of the rug in progress! I love the cozy look of these rugs. I’ve got a few uglies that could stand to be used up, too. You’ll have to let us know if the fabric goes a long way or if this type of project eats it up fast.

  • Amy Lause says:

    I just love your blog! Thanks for posting these pretty rugs!

  • Jan says:

    All such inspiring rugs but a piece of advice ~ stick with braiding. I crocheted a fabric scrap rug years ago and it just about wrecked my wrist. Quite a workout! I’m looking forward to seeing your project, Anita!

  • bean1 says:

    I grew up with braided rugs made I think from wool, I still have the red and black one from my childhood home. That is a big undertaking -unless you make a bath matt. I wish you well. Meredith NJ

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Using the uglies at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

