Social Media Slump

August 21, 2013 § 9 Comments

morning-balloon

I finally took the plunge and upgraded to a smart phone.  My previous phone was four years old and didn’t have a qwerty keyboard.  Texting has gotten to be really annoying.  But I am in a technology slump.  It almost makes me want to unplug.  Yet with this new smart phone now there is Instagram as well.  How do you keep up without losing your sanity? (she asks sheepishly. maybe I am now old because it doesn’t interest me much?)

Yesterday while cycling with my hubby to his work (his ride is 10 miles and I ride about half way with him and then turn around and go home)  we saw this hot air balloon coming in for a landing.  And there are certain spots on the trail that are full of this amazing aroma of ripe blackberries.  There are hints of fall in the early mornings now.  I LOVE autumn!  It’s my favorite time of the year. There is one advantage to having a smart phone… it’s so much easier to grab a shot of everyday life without toting my large camera with me.

BTW, I’ve moved all of the social media links over to the navigation panel on the right. They are small icons all grouped together in one spot.

§ 9 Responses to Social Media Slump

  • nicolette says:

    ahhhh, I’m with you, my phone is 6 years old. I can’t bring myself to buy an expensive smart phone. Mr DC bought me an iPad which I rarely use, so I guess I’m really getting old!

    Love that shot from the hot air balloon!

  • vivjm says:

    I’m still smart-phone-less but feeling like I’m increasingly in the minority. I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with social media!!

  • audrey says:

    I can’t. I don’t. Keep up that is. It’s just too overwhelming and I want to live my life, not worry about keeping up with everyone else’s. I try to limit myself and I know that keeps me in the minority too, but it works better for my sanity.:)

  • Liz says:

    I find IG interesting – I just joined last week. I think the key to technology is to make it work for you and not vice versa. It is a quick way to connect without blogging a whole post, but on the hand you could spend hours on there if you wanted too. If it doesn’t make your life easier, don’t do it!🙂

  • Jane says:

    Upgraded to a smart phone this summer. So far, I like the camera for the reasons you describe and I find that reading email and blogs help me make it up the last monster, killer hill on my walk each morning. It’s over before I know it!

  • quiltfairy33 says:

    I also just got a smart phone after resisting for a long time. It’s got great features but realistically I doubt I’ll venture much into them beyond the camera and texting. Too much technology just makes me tired! I’d rather be sewing🙂

  • susan says:

    i too love fall and always look forward to its arrival! yay for a smart phone. to be honest i stopped most everything except instagram. i still post my pix onto FB and twitter thru instagram but rarely go to either. also i have given up on flickr. i think i check peoples blogs more now then in the recent past tho. can i just tell you, you will love instagram, its so nice to capture our daily lives. and most of our “friends” are already there!!

  • Juliann says:

    I love Instagram! And the trail has been wonderful this summer. In fact, I am off for a long ride today. Enjoy your new phone.

  • Lynn says:

    My daughter loves instagram but I can’t get into it. I stopped at Facebook. I don’t need any more addictions!! BUT that pic of the hot air balloon is the perfect thing to post on instagram!!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Social Media Slump at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

