Random Sampler QAL – Update

August 2, 2013 § 3 Comments

Random-Sampler-Blocks

First of all, I want to thank everyone that left comments, suggestions, and opinions about my photo that has been hijacked by others.  I truly appreciated ALL of them.  It gave me many things to think about.  One for sure, I need to start watermarking every image that I post anywhere on the Internet no matter how insignificant it may be.  Another thing I need to think about is how & where to store my images.  I see Flickr becoming something different than what it was when I started using it or even what it was 6 months ago. I think it is time to slowly move my images away from there. How to do that and where to move them is an whole other matter.  I’m not sure what the answer is.  And Pinterest is another beast in itself.  Boy, does technology make my life more complicated!

On another note!  I totally missed the July block for the Random Sampler Quilt-Along.  So I’m going to try to wrap everything up this month… if I can!

We have 2 more blocks to finish off the year.  And you can see by the spoiler above, I’ve decided that the last two blocks will be an arrow and the year we will finish this quilt.  So look forward to those two posts this month.

I also want to make a list of other block tutorials around the Internet that you might find helpful to fill in the blank spaces of your quilt.

And finally, I’ll show you how I am going to finish my quilt.  You all are free to finish yours any way you wish.  But for those that want some of the math figured out for you, I will provide the info for my quilt.

Have a great weekend!

§ 3 Responses to Random Sampler QAL – Update

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    We could have a super conversation about this over coffee! I think living in the information age really requires thinking about what and how we share. So much of the development of the Internet and many of the computer programs we use have developed though “open source” and the sharing of thoughts and ideas possibly without getting any credit for what we’ve contributed.

    How to approach a solution? Probably this will be answered by different people in different ways. You are a photographer and therefore the pictures you take are a part of your online persona. Marking them with a watermark will be a great way to try and help with this situation. For me the answer may also include watermarks…or, I may just conclude that the pictures are taken in the simple hope of sharing snapshots of life. Both answers are good ones depending on our motivation. But, I also trust in the verse, “Be sure that your sin will find you out.” Numbers 32:23b

    My Random Sampler is up on my wall, but a couple of blocks behind. I’ll dive in and get it caught up soon!!

  • crookedpath says:

    Anita,
    Since you already own your own domain name, why don’t you just upload your photos to a folder on the server that hosts your domain for your shop. Actually, you could probably import this blog over there and uploading media through WordPress is simple. The company that hosts your other site should be able to help you moving your files over.
    ~Erin

  • Marie says:

    Anita sending you every good wishes and hopefully you get it all sorted. Loving the sampler and looking forward to seeing what you do with borders etc. Have a great weekend. .Marie

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Random Sampler QAL – Update at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

