Whirligig

July 30, 2013 § 7 Comments

Whirlygigswirly stitching

Finished!  This quilt came together by the help of the lovely ladies in the Faith circle of the Do.Good.Stitches quilting bee.  Each person made the blocks and I assembled the quilt.  It’s a simplified Whirlgig block. Sometimes we all need EASY!  And still, I struggled to finish this one. Between life, finishing our flooring, and having my sewing room packed up in boxes and stored in the garage it was a challenge to get it finished.  Even on the last two rows of quilting my machine decided to protest and I had to give it a time out before continuing.  But it is now done!

Thank you to all the wonderful women in my quilting bee!  This quilt will be given to Restore Innocence, an organization that rescues girls from human trafficking.

Assorted stats:

approximate finished size – 54″ x 66″
blocks – 6″ simple rail fence arranged in a whirligig layout
border fabric – an old one from Lakehouse Dry Goods that has been in my stash
backing fabric – Kaffe Fassett’s Radiation print in pastel found on sale at my local Ben Franklin

§ 7 Responses to Whirligig

  • Debbie Smith says:

    It’s so pretty I’m sure someone is going to cherish it.

  • jo says:

    Lovely quilt Anita. Good for you for persevering to bless a young woman out of such a horrific experience. I pray the cheerful and colorful look of the quilt will begin to put some sunshine back in her life.

  • lynne says:

    What a wonderful effort for a great cause. It’s very pretty!

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    Love Love Love how this one turned out Anita! And the back…it just looks like it’s all ready to snuggle around some young lady. Thank you for pushing on through on this quilt.

    This reminds me of something my husband told me probably 15 or so years ago that has stuck with me all this time. We have A LOT of trees in our yard (about 40-50 last count) and most of them are in the back. In the fall we are absolutely buried in leaves that have to be raked up. My husband was raking in the back yard and I was in the front (where there was only one tree that has millions and millions of very small leaves.) Well, I was complaining about how there were so many leaves and I was never going to get finished. He told me, “Debbie, sometimes it takes a while to get the job done.” I know…it’s not such Earth shattering advice…but it is so true. Sometimes it really does take a while to get the job done.

  • Tricia says:

    A lovely quilt and a particularly worthy cause considering the latest news headlines. This might be the first sign of real love and caring that its new owner has ever had.
    Tricia

  • Marie says:

    Beautiful quilt Anita and I love that it is going off to Restore Innocence. What a worthy cause. No doubt who ever receives it will be wrapped in love. Thanks for sharing………..Marie

  • Sarah Marie says:

    It’s amazing how a simple quilt can be so striking. Your quilt will surely be loved.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Whirligig at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

