Grip & Stitch™ free motion quilting disks

July 16, 2013 § 28 Comments

Ellen, a friend in my sewing group developed these Grip & Stitch™ quilting disks. And I have been promising her that I would post a review on my blog for some time now. Since I have a number of quilt tops waiting to be quilted I figured I’d better do as I said I was going to do. Right?

FMQ-gloves

What I have been free-motion quilting with in the past are these garden gloves.  If you are not a fan of gloves, or your hands get too hot, or you struggle with gripping your quilt while free-motion quilting, then you may want to try out these quilting disks.

Grip-Stitch-disks

The disks are made of two different kinds of foam; one on the top & the other on the bottom.  Use either side to grip the quilt, but I’ve found that the black foam seems more grippy.  Maybe even more grippy than my garden gloves?  Place the large disk in your left hand and on the outside of the sewing machine & the smaller disk in your right hand and on the inside of the sewing machine. Then move your fabric as usual to free-motion quilt.

I think one of the major benefits of these disks is that it is easier to stop to pull out pins and then start again.  No more fumbling with pulling off a glove so that you can remove a basting pin.  They are so easy to pick up and move.  I’m not the greatest when it comes to starting & stopping. I need a lot more practice!  But I can see that after quilting nearly half of my quilt, I am improving.

The other major benefit of these disks is that my hands don’t get tired from trying to grip the fabric. Instead, the disks are doing the gripping for me. Which translates into a more relaxed posture all the way around when free-motion quilting.  My shoulders don’t get as tense and I seem to be sitting up straighter so my back isn’t slouching over either!  Less tension & back stress is always good.

The only struggle I really have when using the Grip & Stitch disks is that I find it much harder to control the quilt if I want to quilt a large pattern or motif. I tend to resort to my gloves for that.  But this smaller wiggly pattern that I’m doing or anything small seems to work great!

FMQ-disks-edge

When you get to the edge of the quilt, turn the disk on it’s edge to get right to the end of the quilt.  Ellen has a video on her web site showing them in action… being used by Lynn, another friend in my sewing group.  Lynn is an amazing quilt artist that was the inspiration behind these disks. You can see her quilts in her book Flower Show Quilts.  I will never be able to free-motion quilt like she does!

If you would like to win a pair of the Grip & Stitch free-motion quilting disks, please leave a comment in this post telling me about something fun you have been doing this summer.

I’ll leave the comments open until I can get all of the contents of my sewing room unpacked.  It may be at least another week or so.  We had the rest of our flooring installed in the bedrooms last week. Then I decided that all of the rooms needed to be repainted. And now my hubby is working on putting up the trim.  Meanwhile, I’m tackling my pile of quilt tops that need to be quilted.  I need all of the encouragement I can get!

§ 28 Responses to Grip & Stitch™ free motion quilting disks

  • mary numme says:

    fun? making our double wedding ring quilt. i have saved the fabric for it for 25 years. just waiting for the right teacher to unlock the mystery of it to me, and give me confidence! yeah, sheilah crum!! she wins blue ribbons all the time at our state fair! 🙂

  • Heather says:

    Good luck with all the quilting. This summer I started Love Entwined, an online BOM by Esther Aliu. It is intensive appliqué and I am having so much fun!

  • Jackie says:

    Fun so far this summer? Getting ready for my nieces to visit next week!

    I was really intrigued to hear that your shoulders don’t hurt so much with the Grip and Stitch disks. I always feel it there.

  • Kathy in FL says:

    We started off the summer by going to Disney World, and visiting 3 parks in 3 days! Now, we’re planning to go back in September, and can’t wait! I use gloves, too, to FMQ, and wearing them gets hot after a while. So I’d really like to try the disks.

  • I’m having a lot of fun piecing a quilt with dots and stripes for my daughter to take to college! (Thanks for this opportunity.)

  • Mary Carroll says:

    I love the pattern of quilting you are using on your pretty quilt!

  • making quilt’s can any thing be more fun?

  • audrey says:

    Thanks for sharing the results and having the giveaway! I am just barely starting to learn to machine quilt and need all the help I can get with it! Good luck on finishing some quilt tops this summer.:)

  • Anita says:

    We just got back from a three day camping trip near Santa Cruz. We had a really fun time.

  • jo says:

    Hi Anita,
    I love the quilt and your quilting looks great on it. I am such a PINK lover!!

  • KatieQ says:

    I’ve been having fun shopping for my soon to be daughter in law’s bridal shower. It’s been a long time since I bought kitchen gadgets and seeing the vast array of “needed” items has been fun.,

  • Liz says:

    Well it’s winter here, not summer, and the most fun thing I’m doing is learning EPP. It’s a great way to keep busy in front of evening telly?

  • Kelly says:

    These look like they’d be a help in my quest to learn to FMQ…🙂
    This summer we’re building a house so my days are full of tile, and wood floors and other selections!🙂

  • Hi Anita, thanks for mentioning me and my book! I don’t need to be in the drawing for the disks, since i have pairs of them with every machine, and several in my class bag. I’d like others to have a chance to win them, so they can see how good they work – They’re great!!!

    A few Tips:

    Edges: You don’t have to go all the way up on the edge, just tilt the disk so only a little is griping the edge, not the bed of the machine. You can also turn the quilt so edge is parallel with the arm of the machine, or put one disk in front and the other behind the foot.

    Detail quilting: hold disks in closer to the area you’re quilting.

    Large designs: I tend to quilt designs that will fit under the arm of the machine with room for the small disk because I dislike marking, although for larger designs, I use chalk that will brush away to mark guidelines.

  • Sandy says:

    I’ve been having fun this summer learning all about my new Janome Horizon Memory Craft 12000. It’s my first combination sewing/embroidery machine. I would love to win a pair of these discs to help with my free hand embroidery. Thanks for the review and a change to win this neat gift.

  • Debbie Smith says:

    Hi Anita, love your quilt and FAQ designs. I would love to win a set of disc’s. I have a new granddaughter coming and could use something to save the pain from my neck and shoulders.

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    I’m with you on the putting on/taking off of the gloves…can get time consuming. These quilting disks sound interesting.

    I’ve been working on a pair of crochet socks for my bother-in-law. He said he would wear handmade socks if they were camo (hunting colors) so I’ve been working on them. To me they look like Shrek socks…hahaha! We’ll see if he actually wears them.

  • Sara says:

    wow those look really interesting. i’d love to try them. this summer i’ve been really busy so haven’t had much time for fun. but we did get our dog a kiddie (puppy?) pool to keep cool this summer and i love watching her splash around and play.

  • Suzanne says:

    I’m going fabric shopping in Paducah today!

  • patsy says:

    Teaching quilting this summer at a local studio. Would love to show the disks to my students. They are apprehensive about free motion quilting and this looks like a great option to gloves.

  • dorothy says:

    i would really like to try the disks again–i tried something similar many years ago and didn’t like the feel–but i also get tired of taking on and off the gloves for FMQing.

  • Sandy Sorenson says:

    Interesting disks. I checked out her website and videos. These disk have 2 kinds of foam, top and bottom both are foam. Sounds like an improvement over an older type of disk, gloves, the ring, and finally the death grip. Also good for “aging” hands. Enjoyed also Lynn M’s quilting tips.

  • DebbyMc says:

    What a great idea! So much better than hot gloves🙂 For fun…well, let’s see…working in my veggie garden, sitting on the patio drinking iced tea and looking at the view across the valley…now I’m in my summer house listening to the birds, smelling sweet country air, and waiting for the thunderstorm we are supposed to get later this evening…a cool down! Yay!

  • mjb says:

    I always like trying new gadgets

  • Jan says:

    I have not been sewing much this summer. My sewing room is chaos as I have been sorting through things that have been in storage. I am looking forward to a retreat next month to work on some projects. I would love to try the disks. They look like a great solution!

  • I have a set of these disks, and really love them! I’ve been telling some friends about them – I think everyone should try them! This summer I’ve picked up my Farmer’s Wife quilt again… doing a block every day or so seem so satisfying!

  • Christine says:

    look better than wearing gloves…

  • Paulann white says:

    I love the discs, I have been using them for about ten years, they have never worn out nor does the foam come off. I seem to have more control of my projects than I do with the gloves. Gloves are hot, and slide around on my hands then I get frustrated and take them off and go back to my discs. I would like to purchase two or three additional sets, where can I find them?0

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Grip & Stitch™ free motion quilting disks at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

