Catching up

April 11, 2013 § 19 Comments

Our other kitty, Kiska, has been ill for the last 1 1/2 years or so.  Earlier this week it appeared she had had a stroke and so we had to say good-bye again to another one of our fur babies.  Two good-byes in the last 3 weeks is hard.  Even though we were a little more prepared for this one it was still hard to see her go.  The house sure is quiet now.

I have been wanting an applique project to work on this year.  But I couldn’t decide exactly what. Then I remembered that I had picked up the pattern for the Merry Merry Snowman quilt last year.  I had started picking out green fabrics because I wanted something different. There are going to be hundreds of red quilts out there one day!  Not that I don’t love the red!  I do!  But I just wanted the challenge of finding a different color theme.

When I pulled out what I had so far I didn’t really like the green anymore. So I started digging through  my stash to see what I had.  I think I am going to like this for the backgrounds.  I am envisioning brighter colors for the applique pieces.  We shall see. I am really jumping around on my projects lately. And frankly, between the kitchen remodel and the loss of our two cats my quilting has been in a weird funk.  Knitting has been my therapy of choice lately.

And my hubby is excited about his garden this year. These are his tomato starts sitting near the sliding door… searching for the sun.  Come back sun!  We miss you!

§ 19 Responses to Catching up

  • Lizzie says:

    So sorry for you loss. She sure was beautiful. Lovely snowman start, the colors are just wonderful.

  • Debbie Smith says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. It takes time for the grieving process. Be kind to yourself thru this process.

  • jean says:

    Hugs… its tough to lose our furkids. I love the neutral background of the snowman quilt. Perfect backdrop for brights.

  • Diane says:

    Oh Anita, I am so very sad to hear that you have lost another fur baby. It is so difficult and so soon after the other one! Please know that my heart is hugging you from far away and I am thinking of you. I do hope that you find some comfort in your stitching. Maybe making a project in honor or memory of them with help a bit. I think your background choices for the applique are wonderful. Hang in there…

  • Pamela says:

    My heart goes out to you for the loss of your fur babies. We have two of our own and are very attached to them. I hope you find comfort in your quilting or stitching. Even grieving for our animals can take a toll.

  • Debby Mc says:

    Oh, no😦 I’m so sorry about your kitty. So sorry.

  • nicolette says:

    So sorry Anita for your loss. It must be so hard to go through this twice in a row. Kiska looks so beautiful in the picture! Take care!! Hugs))

  • Tora Consolo says:

    Oh Anita, I’m so sorry about losing another kitty.one is bad enough but two….so very sad.

    I found myself wishing you lived closer yesterday as I your Squash Blossom square. I’d never done anthing more complicated than half-square triangles and found the bias-edged triangles a bit tricky. Plus my color choices were weird. The star around my center square was way too light and faded into the background fabric.

    I need to loosen up when I pick fabrics, I think. I’m so afraid of not getting it right,

  • susan says:

    oh sweetie. i truly am sorry. your kitty was beautiful.
    cant wait to see what you do with this appliqued quilt

  • Gwewn says:

    So sorry about youlosing your animals. I just got a ne dog(rescue) after losing mine 5 years ago. It took me that long to get over it.

  • RosaMaría says:

    so sorry for your loss. Last year we have to say good bye to my beloved Gumaro (my first dog) and the sweet Lola (my very dear kitty) and still is hard dont see them around us. I miss them so much!
    big hugs for you!

  • Mary says:

    Anita,
    So sorry for your loss.. Eli has joined Kiska in kitty heaven,they’re sniffing the air & jumping over fences together. Such beautiful kitties, hold on to the lovely memories you have share as a family.
    Hugs, Mary

  • Jenny says:

    WOW. That’s so rough.

  • Anita, I am so sorry about Kiska, that’s really hard to take after just saying goodbye to one kitty. She was a beautiful little cat.
    I love your neutral background for the snowman quilt! I just finished a quilt top in neutrals with some splashes of contrast, and I love the soft palette. It’ll be fun to see yours take shape as you begin the applique.

  • Ardis Bucy says:

    Sending supporting thoughts for the loss of another kitty. We must focus on the happy memories. Sharing your tears.
    Love your blog. Your tutorials are wonderful and your fabric choices are inspiring. I read your blog faithfully but hardly ever comment.

  • pratima says:

    I am deeply sorry for your loss, Anita! It is heartbreaking to miss two loving companions in such a short time. May their souls rest in peace.

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    So sorry you and Gary are grieving the loss of Kiska and Eli. I know exactly what you mean about how quiet the house becomes. When we lost our sweet Lab, Skye, several years ago I just could not believe the muffled silence of the house. When she passed my heart was just broken and I didn’t think I could stand to have another dog any time soon. However, I discovered that the silence in the house was just too much and within two weeks we had a new puppy. Our new puppy was cute and spunky, but it took about a year for her to work her way into my heart. Puppys and kitties are cute, but they have to grown into friends. That’s really what you have lost, friends. Praying God’s comfort will be felt.

  • Lynn says:

    So sorry to hear abt Kiska. And the fact that this is the 2nd loss in 3 weeks is ROUGH! {{{{hugs}}}

  • Barb says:

    I have been browsing around looking for other people who are doing the snowmen quilt and came across your blog. It touched my heart. I do hope that things are a little easier now. I too find hand knitting great therapy. How is your snowmen quilt coming along?

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Catching up at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

