Hello Again

March 8, 2012 § 11 Comments

My  mom was visiting last week and it felt like a whirlwind trip. Nearly every day was planned with something.  But the biggest day and the reason she came when she did was so that we could go to the Sew Expo.  It’s a huge sewing and stitching show with vendors selling everything from fabric and yarn to sewing machines. There are classes too, but we haven’t ever taken any classes. It’s just enough to drool over all the cool products in the sewing industry.  I restrained my spending and came home with this thimble and cute owl fabric.

The thimble looks a little goofy but I’m hoping that it will turn out to be a winner. The last time I dug out my 4-Letter Words quilt, the needle started poking through my thimble. Quilting with heavy thread seems to be hard work. This thimble was developed by the husband of a quilter. He is a retired machinist and added some unique features as requested by his wife and her quilting friends.  It has deep grooves on the sides as well as the top. And the rubber material that it is made out of is not supposed to stretch or change shape with use.  I got a chance to talk with Mary Peters and she guarantees her thimbles to fit and not wear out. If you buy a thimble and find that it doesn’t fit as well when you get it home, she will gladly exchange it for another size. Her web site is P.Q.F. Thimbles.  She was a delight to talk to!

The owl fabric is by Kokka and I found it at The PatPourri’s booth.  It doesn’t look like they have it on their web site.  I have no idea what I am going to make with it, but it was way too cute to leave behind. I’m sure I’ll eventually think of something!

And…. I’m back to my original plan of 3 dresdens in a row.  I’ve been fighting with the alternate blocks and now I am beginning to panic about getting this finished. I’d best get to sewing and finishing this over the next couple of days! Where are the sewing elves when you need them?

§ 11 Responses to Hello Again

  • Billie in TX says:

    The timble definitely looks hopeful. I’ll be waiting for your review!

    Love the dresdens.

  • Tora Consolo says:

    Hi Anita, I love the fabric in those Dresden blocks – the polka dots and newsprint look so good together!

  • DebbyMc says:

    Love the wordy sashing fabric! Just enough to be seen but without overpowering the plates, quirky and adds texture. Great choice=-)

  • Sandy Sorenson says:

    Love the sashing fabric, never would have thought to use it that way.
    Great minds think alike, I bought the same owl fabric at Sew Exp

  • Mary Jo says:

    Love the word sashing.
    I’ve had that same thimble for about two years and it works like a charm. It still looks as new as the day I bought it. Hopefully you will have the same luck with yours.

  • Liz from Fall City (but now from Kauai) says:

    I knew there would be disadvantages to moving! Sewing Expo is usually my inspiration for the year. And my shopping indulgence, but that is beside the point, right?

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    Will look forward to an update on how you like the new thimble. I’ve been putting off the quilting of my Drisella applique quilt, but really want to get going with it. I bought a leather thimble to try. If I don’t like it I may have to give this one a try…I just can’t stand metal thimbles.

    I love how your Three Dresdens in a Row look…so sweet!

  • Tora Consolo says:

    I know how you feel, I have a baby quilt that needs doing for a shower on the 23rd. Yikes. I really need to get my but in gear! This weekend for sure!!!!!

  • Helen says:

    I tried going to the link for the thimble and my virus program warned me of an an active threat. I tried it twice and had the same warning both times. I won’t try again. Because I do a fair amount of hand quilting I am always interested in good thimbles. Do you know if that thimble is sold locally or only online?

  • I had no problem with the thimble site.

    Anita, what is the black and white fabric under the thimble in the photo? It looks nummy!

  • trudy hammac says:

    I spoke to Mary Anne and she said she had to close the website. But her email is maryanne288@sbcglobal.net She is very nice and the thimbles are worth the $25 price. I have two since my finger varies with temperature changes. My callus I get from a metal thimble is gone!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hello Again at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

