Collaborative Quilting

February 9, 2012 § 6 Comments

While I’m sewing down the stems on my Dresden quilt, which is neither fast nor interesting, I thought I’d give you something else to look at. These are my bee blocks from last year and this year.  The blocks on the left are from last year and inspired by this quilt in the book Freddy & Gwen Collaborate Again.  I just need to make my blocks and then decide what fabric to use to fill in between the pinwheel blocks.

I sent a piece of this Kaffe Fassett fabric below to each of the bee members and then they used fabrics from their stash to make the pinwheel blocks.  But I don’t have enough of it to put more between the blocks. This fabric is old and long gone.  I should have bought more when I had the chance!  Maybe another Westminster fabric will do the trick.

The blocks on the right are this year’s bee blocks. They are inspired by Freddy & Gwen’s first book Collaborative Quilting.  I guess I just can’t get enough of Freddy & Gwen!  I’m dying to take a class from either one of them.  But their classes are always full before I even get a chance to sign up.  I did get to chat a minute with Freddy Moran at the Sister’s Quilt Show last year. She is too cute!

I asked the bee members to make bright baskets on neutral backgrounds.  Not all the blocks have arrived yet. And I still need to make my own.  In the meantime… It’s nice to have something bright and cheery hanging on my design wall while the weather has turned back to it’s usual gray and rainy self.  And that star in the upper right hand corner is an “oops” block that I made the wrong size.   I’m not sure what to do with that one just yet.

§ 6 Responses to Collaborative Quilting

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Collaborative Quilting at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

