The snow is nearly gone

January 24, 2012 § 6 Comments

For some reason the snow last week left me inspired to work on my Dresden plate quilt from my class in Sisters, OR last summer rather than my snowflake quilt. Isn’t that funny… when it’s not snowing I’m all excited about my snowflake quilt. And then when we finally do get a little snow, all I want to work on is something that reminds me of flowers and summer.  Fickle I am.

The snow also inspired me to clean out the hall closet and move some of my sewing stuff into it for better space organization.  My sewing room always feels so small and cramped.

I also prepared all the bag pieces for the Amy Butler bag class I am teaching tomorrow at work.  Everyone is picking out an Amy Butler bag to make from either her patterns or her book and then I’m going to give moral support and technical help where needed.  I’ve wanted to make this Sophia Carry All bag for some time now.

I also made these potholders.  At work we are starting a Small Project of the Month club and these potholders are the first project for February.  The pattern is the Handy Heart Potholders and the shop is making kits to sell.  Call the shop (no online shopping cart) if you would like a kit. I think we might make some more kits in other fabrics as well, but we were shooting for a Valentine’s theme for February.  (For those of you who may be new around here … I work part-time at Gathering Fabric Quilt Shop.)

The potholders gave me a chance to play around with some of the fancy stitches on my Janome.  That was kind of fun and something I don’t do very often.

In case you ever wondered… this is what the backside looks like when the thread in a drop-in bobbin comes out of it’s guides. What a mess!  And let me tell you how fun it is to rip it out.  Not!

One last shot of the snow before the last of it melts away…  Only the piles where we shoveled are still left. And the weather is back to our normal Pacific Northwest fickle self.

§ 6 Responses to The snow is nearly gone

  • Love that last picture! You captured the snow and the bird perfectly!

  • leanne says:

    the fabrics in the dresden plate are gorgeous and I love the fancy stitches on the potholders but not so much the back – eeek ! and that photo of the snow with the little bird has made my day – thanks

  • hedwig says:

    At least you got the snow my kids are craving for ! We have to content ourselves with rain and loads of mud ! ;-(
    Nice potholders !

  • jean says:

    Moved to the area recently (we were unpacking the moving truck as the first flakes fell, in fact. Got a lot of “nesting” done.

    I like the dresden flowers…. those just always make me smile, regardless of what fabrics are used in them. I just adore them!

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    I love your happy Dresden flower wall hanging :o) I can’t wait to see how it progresses. Last summer I used the Sweet Harmony pattern by Amy Butler to make a handbag and I absolutly *Love* it! The pattern was written so well and went together perfectly…it was even written with such a polite tone to it, if that makes any sense. Glad you got to enjoy a little winter whiteness and that now things are returning to normal. Wishing we would get some good winter white…

  • Kathy says:

    The dresden plates are really lovely. Love the photo it the tiny bird in the snow!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The snow is nearly gone at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

