Bye bye 2011, You won’t be missed

December 29, 2011 § 11 Comments

Not much has been happening in the sewing room the last couple of weeks. I did do a machine sewn binding demo at work on some potholders, then managed to make a hot pad to go along with them.  The hot pad is made up of 2 1/2-inch strips from my French General stash, sewn together and cut into triangles with my 60-degree ruler.  I added a layer of Insul~Bright and scraps of batting to make them all heat resistant.

Frankly, I have had no real enthusiasm to do anything beyond the necessary in the sewing room.  Napping, reading and knitting a pair of socks has been about all I’ve done.

I did try to trick myself into working on this long-standing WIP – or is it a UFO now since this is the 3rd Christmas where it still isn’t finished.  But it didn’t work.  I’ve been stalling because I don’t know what I want to quilt in all of those setting triangles. In my mind I have visions of beautiful feather quilting which exceeds my abilities. So, to keep the front from intimidating me, I turned it over and started doing pebble quilting on the back.  But I don’t really like it. Plus, it really eats up the thread… a little more than a bobbin of thread for each setting triangle. I’m tempted to rip it all out entirely. Why has this one been so hard to finish?

This last year has been a challenge that won’t be missed.  We’re still trying to figure out why I am not sleeping well and suffering from insomnia.  At least I think I’ve finally found a doctor who is willing to investigate.  I’ve been given all sorts of crazy explanations. And any prescription or over-the-counter sleep aid seems to do the complete opposite and keep me awake. We did discover that I have non-reactive mono. Once exposed to the mono virus it can reactivate all over again.  Non-reactive means that it is trying to reactivate but just isn’t quite there yet. That explains part of my tiredness.  And we also discovered that I am allergic to eggs and a few other things… just in time to be excluded from all of the holiday goodies.  BTW, ground flax seeds soaked in water become gooey and can be used as a binding agent to replace eggs. They seem to work well in pancakes, meatloaf and  scones.  So far that’s all the recipes I’ve tried to replace the eggs.  I’m ready to put this year behind me and start a new one.

Unfortunately, there are a few UFO’s that will be waiting for me on the other side.   And hopefully I’ll have more energy to put towards some new ideas floating around in my head.  I’m ready for the New Year to start.

§ 11 Responses to Bye bye 2011, You won’t be missed

  • Liz says:

    Take care of yourself and keep challenging the doctors. My sister was also very tired all of the time, but she thought it was work, stress, etc. it turned out that she had several tick-borne diseases and she can’t remember ever having to remove a tick.

    Once she got cleared of those issues, additional testing showed she had high levels of metals so there was another year of medical treatments. Her husband did not have those high levels, so it may have been the result of workplace exposure, but it would be hard to prove.

  • Susan says:

    im sorry to hear you are still struggling with the insomnia. much luck with the new doc. i really like the quilting on your wip….i wish you would embrace it! its gorgeous

  • Manda says:

    I hope the next year is better for you and that you find your answers soon.

  • Earline Egbert says:

    I just want you to know that you have inspired me with your Dresden Plate flowers. Our guild challenge is to make a pinwheel using a batik fat quarter that we were given. I’m thinking Dresden plate flowers with pinwheel centers. I hope your health will be restored soon – you and your website are awesome!

  • Anita, I feel the same way about 2011. Can’t wait to start 2012. We are moving on the 5th and I will have a sewing room again.  That in itself is a great start! I have tonnes of WIP/UFO’s lingering. They are tops on the list. After unpacking of course! 

    I was doing no egg for a while and bought this stuff called egg replacer (catchy name) by Kingsmill Foods.  You use it with 2 tablespoons of water & 1tsp of the product for 1 egg. It has potato starch, cornstarch, guar gum, baking soda, baking powder. I found it worked well in baking to make it rise.

    Good luck and here’s to a great 2012!

  • DebbyMc says:

    Yes, 2012 will be welcomed, indeed. There were a few good parts of 2011, I admit, but overall, I’m very glad to see the page turn. I’m with commenter Susan above: that quilt is gorgeous and when it is done you will love it to pieces! Here’s to a great 2012!

  • Jenny M says:

    Hope you get some answers to your health problems soon. Wishing you & yours all the best for the coming New Year, may you find joy in the simple blessings in each day.

  • Kathy says:

    I will echo Jenny’s comment. Your WIP is looking great. Sending wishes for your health, happiness and many more of your wonderful quilts and posts in 2012.

  • Karen says:

    Anita, hope you find a doctor that can figure things out for you. Your collage of quilts is so wonderful!! Hang in there.

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    So sorry that nagging health/wellness issues were such a prominent part of 2011…it’s just no fun not to feel well or sleep deprived. Hope this new doctor turns out to be a good experience. Reading the comments from others sounds like good egg alternatives are available. Here on the East Coast tick diseases (such as Lyme) are very common for both animals and people and can be so hard to diagnose…is this a possible concern?

    I, too, love the pebble quilting on your Tree of Life (is that the correct name?) quilt. I think it’s great, but you have to be happy with it. Maybe do a little reading from Gwen Marston on how the quilters of old had way different standards than we seem to with regard for the need of perfection. I found that to be so freeing to embrace the idea that not everything has to be “manufacturer grade perfect” when it comes to quilting…reminds me of that old saying…”It’s a art, not a science”. Or, that other old saying…”It can be perfect, or it can be finished.” I love both of these🙂

    I say be gentle on youself…you deserve it.

  • Love your project collage!
    I won’t miss 2011 either and have been having trouble sleeping.
    Here’s to 2012 being a MUCH better year for both of us!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bye bye 2011, You won’t be missed at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

