Just the tree

December 7, 2011 § 6 Comments

All the effort we’ve made so far this year for the holidays is to just put up the Christmas Tree with a few lights.  But I’m torn. I kind of like it so simple like this.  I also like it fully decorated.  I sort of want to just make a few simple decorations and call it good.  This year our December is not scheduled up nearly as full as in the past.  And I am enjoying that.  Every year I dream of taking two or more weeks off to avoid all of the holiday hustle & bustle and just enjoy the season.  This is about the closest we have ever come to slowing down and just enjoying…

For everyone who has been wondering about the outcome from my allergy test… I am allergic to eggs, bananas, whey, cranberries & pineapple.  The whey is kind of throwing me because whey is the liquid portion of dairy. And I am not allergic to casein which is the solid portion of dairy. So, most cheeses are fine for me.  But when I search the internet for whey allergies everyone seems to lump it all together and call it dairy. I am extremely happy that I can continue eating bread & cheese!  And disappointed that most chocolate things contain whey.  I’ll have to search for some vegan chocolate recipes to make to satisfy that chocolate craving!  And while I like bananas, cranberries & pineapple, it won’t be much of a hardship to give those up.   As for eggs… I am undecided in how I feel about that.  For now I’m just hoping that the eczema will clear up.

Hope you all are enjoying the holiday season!

§ 6 Responses to Just the tree

  • Kim Q says:

    My daughter is allergic to eggs too, and I have to warn you, it’s more of a problem than you realize. It isn’t just a breakfast platter, it’s an ingredient in most of your bakery goods, including some breads. She doesn’t have an allergy to dairy, but because of her assorted allergies, she’s lactose intolerant. So she can’t drink regular milk, but oddly enough, ice cream is ok. Unfortunately, her body is adding to the list of food allergies as time goes on…I sure hope that quits soon!

  • Kim Q says:

    I should have mentioned…eggs are also in a lot of pastas and canned goods. And flu shots are a problem too!

  • Lisle says:

    Oh, I’m glad you know. It’s a huge pain to have to revamp your eating style, but there are lots of good resources for it now. There’s a great blog with some really good recipes here: http://savoryseasonings.blogspot.com/

    Good luck! And enjoy your simple Christmas!

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    Wow, what an eclectic mix of things to be allergic to. Probably eggs will be the most difficult thing to work around if this is a severe allergy. Wonder if it’s just a mild allergy if you can keep using them?

  • Liz says:

    I was wondering the same thing as Blue Ridge Girl – once you eliminate everything and the skin clears up, can you slowly try to add things back in? Check out Tasty Kitchen http://tastykitchen.com/ They have a section on special foods.

    I like the simple Christmas Tree – I’ve done that in the past with lights, ribbons and a special 12 Days of Christmas ornaments. Instead of putting the different colored balls on the tree, I piled them in bowls placed them all over the room. Looked pretty and was so easy.

    I saw a blog entry somewhere that the person took small sqaures of white fabric, red thread on the top and green thread in the bobbin and made strings of “flakes”. It looked fun and I might give it a try.

  • Pratima says:

    Beautiful tree, Anita! Wish you and yours a very Happy Holidays!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just the tree at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

