3 little snowflakes

November 30, 2011 § 9 Comments

I’m quietly working on my snowflakes this week while I try not to think about what foods I might be allergic to/intolerant of before I get my test results back next week.  And I’m trying to eat gluten-free this week to see if it makes any difference. I’ve had eczema on my eyelids for quite some time. And I recently switched to a naturopath doctor. She thinks it could be food allergies. I made gluten-free cookies the other day. And I bought some gluten-free bagels yesterday. They were pretty good. But they definitely don’t have the same texture as wheat products.

§ 9 Responses to 3 little snowflakes

  • Amanda Jean says:

    Oh, I just love these! That’s no surprise….I love everything you make! They look like a whole lot of fun….and I love that you and your sister in law are making the same quilt but in different colors. How fun!

  • Monika says:

    I love those snowflakes!! So pretty!
    I´ve had really bad skin before eating gluten-free, stomach problems, a very bad mood,… so I hope you will feel better and the gluten is the problem! But cooking and baking will change🙂 I have used the bake a LOT before, but as baking glutenfree is so different I do not bake often😦 But pancakes with glutenfree flour are the best!!

  • Cindy says:

    I love your snowflakes… very nice… can’t wait to see what it will look like quilted! I also have food allergies so I feel your pain.

  • Malin says:

    ❤ Love your snowflakes!
    Inspiration to me!!

  • Liz says:

    When I saw the cave post, I was wondering about the block but now that I see a finished one, they are very pretty. I may put this idea on my list since I have lots of blues to use up in the stash.

    Re the eczema – I had it on my hands and feet as a kid then it went away. As an adult, it came back but I thought it was related to stress. However, I noticed that the skin improved whenever I took antibiotics for something else. So, we are now thinking that bacteria entered the area with the skin cracks – working on the bacterial infection lets the skin improve and able to fight off future infections. It’s not fully resolved, but I thought I would throw out that idea.

    So, in lieu of taking antibiotics, i am doing footbaths in diluted bleach water, but that’s not an option for the eyelids! But, bateria lives on our skin, so if you are rubbing your eyelids, there might be an infection going on.

    Since I’ve changed my diet, it might be something I am avoiding. I’ve noticed that when I eat more avacodas, my skin improved, so I might be missing some essential oils/fats in the diet. But increasing other foods helped the eye health. It is so complicated!

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    Love this sweet little snowflake quilt…so tempting to buy the pattern🙂

    When my mom died 12 years ago I got exzema on the palms of both of my hands and my right ankle.. My left hand got better when I had to take steriods several years ago for a different problem, but my right palm and ankle have never gotten better. I never thought about it possibly being related to food allergies. May have to look into this.

  • Lieve says:

    Good luck with the test results!!!! I hope they find out what causes it.
    I had eczema all over my body (except my face) and it itched like crazy. The doctor found out is was caused by perfum and nickel.
    And I like your snowflakes.

  • Leanne says:

    I love your snowflakes! I hope you get some helpful news.

  • Sandy Sorenson says:

    Hope your skin heals. Lots of good advice from readers. I will add to that a water softener/purifier and a humidifier for the furnace. Maybe no feather pillows, down comforters, air purifiers, etc. I think antibiotics plus avoiding the allergies is also a good idea. Dermatologists do prescibe antibiotics for acne these days. Good luck

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 3 little snowflakes at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

