The Sewing Cave

November 26, 2011 § 8 Comments

My sister-in-law and I have been sewing in our pajamas.  We are both making the Crazy Flakes quilt in the Buggy Barn’s book Crazy Snow Days.  Hers is green. And mine is blue.

She has a small house too.  But it is so much cuter than our tiny house. We had to take over the basement so that we could both sew at the same time.

We were calling it the Canine Cave because her big Bernese Mountain Dogs love the cool temperature of the basement. So she lets it be their space. But we had to invaded it so that both of us could sew and it became the Sewing Cave. Cooper was pouting over his space being occupied by all of our quilting stuff.

The Buggy Barn patterns are fun because nothing has to be perfectly matched.  We copied the pattern onto freezer paper, stack up our fabrics, then cut through all of the layers and shuffle the fabrics to make the snowflake parts. We are both going to use flannel for the backing of our quilts.  I found an awesome Anna Maria Horner Folksy Flannel on sale yesterday that I think will be perfect for my blue snowflakes.

There has been quite a few flakes falling in the mountains this week.  And soon we will have some fabric flakes inside as well.

Happy Thanksgiving weekend!  Hope you all are still enjoying the holiday.

§ 8 Responses to The Sewing Cave

  • Mary Jo Larson says:

    Oh how fun, and in your pjs too. I loved your photos last week too. Am anxious to see the finished buggy barn quilts.

  • izzy says:

    what fun , I like that cave , how cozy it all looks ..

  • Rachel says:

    Awww… you two look so cute in your jammies. What fun! Can’t wait to see your finished quilt top. You always do such beautiful work, Anita!

  • Jan S. says:

    Well, that just makes me want to get into my comfy clothes, or jammies and sew up a storm! My husband wants me to give up my extra bedroom sewing room, and take over the basement. May have to give this serious thought now.

  • Lisle says:

    Looks like such fun!!

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    It looks like you are both having a great time! I can’t wait to see this quilt…you are seriously tempting me to buy this pattern…I just *love* snowflakes!

    I say “Hooray” for small houses! We have a small house, too. Through the years my neighbor and I have talked many times about how living modestly allows you to handle the things that come along; like needing new tires for your car, without it being a crisis. It also allows one to be more generous with the resourses God blesses us with.

    Happy Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas to you🙂

  • butimnotperfect says:

    I love your photos! You seem like a kindred spirit of mine. I love the idea of a sewing cave, or any celebrated creative space. Happy holiday season!

  • Jacqui Peluso says:

    Did you get a written consent to publish that other person in her PJs in that photo? hahahahaha Just kidding🙂

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Sewing Cave at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

