Just Fruit

November 22, 2011 § 9 Comments

To take a break from portraits, I moved on to fruit bowls. I have to say that this one was the easiest, the most fun, and the one I am most pleased with.

I threw a paint drop cloth over my ironing board, taped a dark green flannel fabric to the wall behind it, and set my ott-light off to the side for low, dramatic lighting.

There’s not much more to say about this one.  Most of the fruit has been eaten already. Nom.

§ 9 Responses to Just Fruit

  • Helena says:

    Wonderful “mise en scène”, pretty photos. I prefer the fruits in place of “portraits” : they can be eaten !

  • izzy says:

    I like all your pics, my hubby went to Brooks Institute of Photgraphy when they still used film and chem processing in darkroom and he never uses this talent so I like when people do..Have you thought of photographing quilts ???

  • susan says:

    you are so funny. great capture anita

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    Love this fruit portrait! You got the lighting spot on and the setting really works…A+ from me!

  • Liz says:

    And I wonder how many quilters thought… “the fabric is not pressed.”

    I do like this – good composition, but all your other photos have been good. Hope your teacher likes them too!

    liz

  • Liz says:

    Oh… I forgot to mention that I have been ironing fabric and blocks this evening, so that’s why I noticed it….I am in the pressing mode right now!

  • izzy says:

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving quilting with your sister in law !!

  • Una says:

    It is very, very beautiful! You are on a Dutch track – for it looks just like it could be a 16th century Dutch painting. How would a still life with folded quilts come through in such a setting, I wonder:)

  • Pratima says:

    It looks just like a classic still life painting! Your lighting is perfect and casts beautiful shadows and creates a lovely deep backdrop. Thank you for sharing🙂

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just Fruit at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

