Woman without a pearl earring

November 21, 2011 § 9 Comments

For our 8th class we had to shoot a self-portrait. Well, I did do a normal self-portrait. But in class we also talked about appropriating photos.  Photos of old paintings. Or something that is becoming popular today… taking a second photo of your children today in a similar setting in the same pose as a photo from their childhood.

I decided that I also wanted to try appropriating the painting Girl With a Pearl Earring. Have you seen the movie?  Since this lighting shows all of my wrinkles of experience & maturity (ha!) the title became “Old Woman Without a Pearl Earring.”  This photo I shot so many times because a) it took awhile to get the lighting just right, but then b) the head band was misbehaving, or c) the crop was too close, or c) the color wasn’t right because I had switched ott-lights, or d) the mouth was wrong. Finally I gave up because I was tired. I think this one had the most number of aspects right. But I look grumpy. Maybe I should have named it “Grumpy woman that lost her pearl earring.”

I really did learn a lot about lighting in this exercise!

§ 9 Responses to Woman without a pearl earring

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Woman without a pearl earring at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

