My husband is NOT an axe-murderer!

November 20, 2011 § 5 Comments

I know many of you are curious to see my final project for my photography class.  But I’m a little intimidated and embarrassed to show you. So please  don’t throw any tomatoes at me, okay?

The final assignment consisted of a series of five photos of a theme that includes an artist statement.  Although we present our final project on Tuesday, I really, really wanted to get it done today so that I wouldn’t have to worry about it tomorrow. Well… even though it is done… I’m still kinda worried. But it is what it is.  I can see all my newbie-ness in these.  And I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on presentation. So I wrestled with our less than adequate printer and called it done.

So… let me post one photo a day and give you some running commentary on my process.

This photo is what generated the original idea for the series.  In Class 4 we were to shoot an environmental portrait.  A portrait that is in a setting that says something about the person.  We were given lots of examples in class.  And we had to practice the different types of lighting that is used in portraits.

I love those old photos of people standing still, holding a tool, showing what they have been working on. Like a bridge that was being built or a giant tree that had just been cut down.  So I convinced Gary that he needed to pose for me in front of our wood pile. That’s about all I said to him and he took the initiative to go set up the scene.  He likes to go out and chop wood when it’s kind of crisp & cold outside. It’s that mountaineer part of his personality coming out.  So… the sun keeps going behind a cloud and coming out again. Gary is squinting and trying to look serious. And I’m trying to set the camera with the right aperture and shutter speed. And this is what happened.

Then Gary posted it on his Facebook page and everybody started saying how creepy looking it was!  So we had to reinforce that in fact “My husband is NOT an axe-murder!” Hence the title of this photo.

The series revolves around various classic styles of lighting and the appropriation of some famous paintings. Since I found lighting a challenging aspect of our class I wanted to continue experimenting with lighting.

So there you have it.  Tomorrow… the next photo in the series.  Stay tuned.

§ 5 Responses to My husband is NOT an axe-murderer!

  • Manda says:

    Looks good! But yea I am glad of the clarification, kind of scary pic otherwise!!🙂

  • Beth says:

    I got it right off…guess you have to have a husband who chops wood…just needs a flannel shirt🙂

  • Rachel says:

    That’s hilarious! It’s actually a really cool photo…

  • Liz says:

    I like it – after reading your posts about hiking, skiing, camping, I saw the photo and read it as someone who was just outside chopping firewood. A modern day part American Gothic. If you had jumped in there holding a cast iron pan, it would have been “American Gothic”. Oh wait, the wife is not holding anything in the picture.

    I like his eyes – very intense, interesting – and you have a really good pile of wood out there…lots of cozy fires…hmmm…have fun!

  • Asiyah says:

    I really like this picture. I wonder if it would have the same effect in black-and-white?

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading My husband is NOT an axe-murderer! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

