9 Bobbins Later…

September 12, 2011 § 4 Comments

Next up: Binding

It’s finally time for the binding. Whew! Maybe this thing will finally be finished by the end of the week…  Crossing my fingers!

Drink your fruits & veggies

On another note… We bought a juicer.  These fruits & veggies above became this juice below.  My sister-in-law inspired me.  She fixed up some juice for us the last time we were visiting.  She likes to keep the green veggies together and the red/orange veggies together. Otherwise if you mix green & orange veggies you end up with brown juice. And that’s not very appetizing!

Juiced!

This juice was made from 1 golden beet, 2 carrots, 2 stalks of celery, 1/3 of a cucumber, a piece of ginger, 1/4 of a lemon, and a yellow apple.  The cucumber skin made it a little less orange than normal.  All that made 2 glasses of juice.  Citrus fruit needs to be peeled because the thick skin can’t go through the juicer. I’ve been saving the leftover pulp and made 6 cups of veggie stock with just few days worth of juicing pulp.  I’m getting ready for you, soup season!

After struggling with insomnia and wacky hormones this last year, I’ve come to the conclusion that changing my diet might help. And, it’s always been a challenge to get the recommended daily servings of fruits & veggies. This definitely solves that problem!  And it tastes good. One sweet fruit mixed with the veggies takes away quite a bit of that grassy, veggie flavor. It still tastes a little veggie-like, but in a good way.

§ 4 Responses to 9 Bobbins Later…

  • Susan says:

    ehubby got a juicer awhile back but i have never used it myself….maybe i need to get on the bandwagon. and i never thouht about using the pulp for stock!!! what a clever thing you are. we have oodles of cucs, i think i will make a trip tonight for some carrots and celery
    does the ginger add flavor or some other property?

  • jodi meenan says:

    Your quilt looks beautiful! I have some of that pansy fabric. I, too, have wacky hormonal things going on, and have insomnia most nights (when I get my best quilting done). But I am menopausal, you must not be, you look so young in your profile pic. Anyway, thanks for sharing!

  • Oh I can’t wait to see your quilt!!🙂 I love all the bright fabrics you used. For some reason I never buy them, but then I admire them in others quilts.:-/ Maybe just FQ’s need to follow me home for a bit.😉

    We have a juicer, haven’t had it out in a while~ I’ve been making smoothies in the summer months with the blender. Guess I’ll get back to juicing in the winter.😉

    Have a happy week!

  • Janet says:

    I adore the binding fabric, can you tell us what it is? Great idea about the veggie stock- Thanks!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 9 Bobbins Later… at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

