1 DONE & 7 more to go

July 15, 2011 § 20 Comments

Scrappy Lone Star

One UFO done towards my Summer Circus of Finishing.  At this rate I may have to change the terms to Year End Circus of Finishing.  Hmft.

This one was started in a Judy Irish class in January 2010.   My excuse is that sometimes projects need to age like good cheese. And I’m sticking to that excuse!

The star is made up of all scraps. The checked background was in my stash. And the backing & binding I found on sale at my local Ben Franklin.  I think (I can’t remember for sure) I cut the diamond pieces at 4 1/2″ and the quilt maybe ended up being roughly 68 or 70 inches square. I wasn’t very accurate on any part of this quilt. I just kind of went with the flow and this is what I ended up with.

I’m going to give it to my niece-in-law.

Only 7 more projects on my immediate finishing list for the Summer Circus of Finishing. I’m not counting the rest of the UFO’s in my room.

What have you been up to?

close up

§ 20 Responses to 1 DONE & 7 more to go

  • Michele says:

    An absolutely lovely finish! I can’t wait to see the others. Chop, chop! I’m teasing. Take your time and continue your prettiness. I’ll wait…it’s totally worth it!

  • Rachel says:

    Oh Anita, that is SO beautiful! You do such gorgeous work.

    p.s. I got to the bottom of that bag of Victorian Earl Grey tea I bought at Serendipity (I’ve been rationing it). I wish I’d bought more – it’s amazing!

  • Annessa says:

    It is beautiful! And I love how you displayed it on those gorgeous trees. I’ve completed 3 projects (does sewing/mending clothes for my kids count?) But, alas, I’ve added more as well. Inherited some projects my great-grandmother started and we found in my grandmothers house recently!

    I agree, some projects have to age, or as I say, stew in my mind.

  • Viv says:

    Absolutely beautiful Anita !!! Well done , it’s stunning.

  • Liz says:

    So worthy of a finish. I love the way the background works.

  • Trisha says:

    It is beautiful! A lonestar quilt is on my quilting bucket list. Ahh, someday… Sorry I haven’t got back to your e-mail question. I can’t seem to access internet on my laptop and that is where I check that e-mail. Lame.

  • Mona Keegan says:

    Anita, this is beautiful. I have a 30 year old Lone Star that was pieced. It was in a box in my attic until last year. I had stopped when I went back to school in 1981. It is in good shape – a miracle! It is on my list of UFO’s to work on after this summer of finishing. So I am way behind you. You go girl!!

  • Misty says:

    Wow, this is just beautiful! It is aged to perfection!

    Like you, I’m working through my UFOs. I’d love to complete about 4 quilts of varying sizes before the year is done but we’ll see how realistic that goal is down the road.🙂

  • Juliann says:

    Beautiful quilt – and what a lovely gift! I finished a quilt this week and started something new. My unfinished pile is going strong.

  • susan sobon/ says:

    i love this quilt so badly
    yay for finishing!!

  • jennifer says:

    i love it, especially the dark border around the edges of the star!

  • nicolette says:

    This quilt is so beautiful Anita! Hurray for a finish!

  • Mary Jo Larson says:

    This is so beautiful! Lucky Niece. I have been taking care of grandchildren so we have been making little animals,etc. I have to finish 3 quilts by Sept. Need to get to it.

  • May Kristin says:

    Congratulations on a beautiul finish!

  • Heather says:

    I love this use of scraps and the way the star is outlined. Congratulations. It’s lovely!

  • Susan says:

    You are so cool and that is so adorable….you need to come to Florida to play in my UFO’s….keep up the fun work…tons of hugs…Susan

  • Jeannette says:

    Wow that is a beautiful lone star! I am contiplanting making that block in a group that may get started. Was it hard and do you have any tips, patterns you would suggest?

  • Marian Martin says:

    Beautiful! I was in the same class and I just finished mine about three weeks ago. I needed a deadline. I put mine in the Mukilteo Garden & Quilt Tour, so I had to get it done. I love the scrappy diamonds and the checked background perfect – it reads like a solid from the picture. My quilt used same fabric in each round of the start, but I do have a scrappy diamond on my design wall.

  • Amanda Jean says:

    That is gorgeous!!! I love how the gingham looks grey at a distance.

    Your post reminded me that I was going to try to finish things this summer. Ha! What ever happened to that idea?!?!

  • Laura Kimber says:

    What a bold and striking quilt! I like the dark border around the star. The colors really pop against the grey background. So inspiring.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 1 DONE & 7 more to go at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

