Hand Pieceing & Glue Stick Winners

June 4, 2011 § 11 Comments

Thank you so much for all the kind comments on my Dear Jane blocks!!  Someone sent me a link to a Dear Jane quilt made of Kaffe Fassett fabrics and it almost (almost!) makes me want to start a second one. But I won’t. I also have The Farmer’s Wife book and maybe I will some day use those blocks for a colorful Kaffe version.

First off, the two lucky winners of a Lapel Stick glue stick are:

Tina of Needles n Notions and May of Krisp-Quilt

Congratulations! You will be receiving an email from me.

And a couple of people asked about how I hand piece.  Let me just say that I am still learning!!  I bought a used copy of Jinny Beyer’s book Quiltmaking by Hand and have been using that for instruction.  It is a fabulous book!  So… here is basically what I do.

Tie a knot

Running stitch with a backstitch after every few stitches

Backstitch on each side of crossing seams

What the other side looks like

Continue running stitch after a backstitch

What the whole seam looks like

The Jinny Beyer book

I found a Youtube video… not of Jinny Beyer… but by Marianne Roberts and she has a lot of similar information. I didn’t know about the ending knot that she talks about. I’ll have to try it!  My Dear Jane blocks are definitely a learning exercise.

Enjoy!

§ 11 Responses to Hand Pieceing & Glue Stick Winners

  • May Kristin says:

    Wow! That Kaffe Fassett DJ was stunning!
    Thank you for the prize! Details has been sent!

  • DebbyMcC says:

    Oooh, gonna try that ending knot =-) Even after 50 years of sewing I’m still learning new things…cool, huh?=-)

  • DebbyMcC says:

    Forgot to say: WOWOWOW on the Kaffe Jane…So beautiful, and the quilting blows me away…

  • Tina says:

    Thanks Anita! I’m so excited to try the glue stick out. I loved watching the hand piecing tutorial. I’d like to try doing some more hand piecing in the future. I hadn’t heard of that knot she showed at the end either.

  • Alexis says:

    I love that DJ but because of the rainbow colors, I didn’t even realize is was Kaffe too. Double stunner! Your hand piecing looks perfect for taking outside to enjoy this glorious weather! Hope you are having a good weekend.

  • susan says:

    i get the feeling there is going to be a small surge in used jinny beyer books in the next few days. very good info to know. i may actually try my hand at this. i have been enjoying hand sewing a lot lately and with the heat coming, i think i might enjoy a lot more!
    do you still press with an iron after each seam??? or the whole block??
    and that block bit looks so wee

  • I’m heaving into hand-piecing and always looking to learn new things. What a clever, super neat ending knot! Thanks so much for sharing what you’ve learned. I can’t wait to try!

  • Izzy says:

    here is Jinny teaching hand piecing , enjoy !!!!!http://www.thequiltshow.com/os/shows.php/episode/601

  • Lynn says:

    Your stitches look great!!! When I want hand stitching, I usually cross stitch. When stitching a quilt, the only part that is hand done is the binding. And even then I still prick myself!!!! It’s the bleeding on the fabric that turns me off!!! LOL

  • pratima says:

    Thank you for a wonderful tutorial, Anita🙂

  • isabel says:

    As this blog, is a learning exercise and pleasured for the eyes!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hand Pieceing & Glue Stick Winners at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

