Scrappy Monday Rambling

March 28, 2011 § 11 Comments

Doll Quilt Swap

I never know how often to blog. I could easily let the weeks slip by, thinking that my every day sewing is really not that interesting.  That it’s really only the big finishes or detailed tutorials that interest everyone.  Then again, I like reading about what everyone else is up to.  So… how about a little Scrappy Monday Rambling?  And… how wouldyou categorize a post like this?  I just dumped it under quilting.  But that’s about 80-90% of my blogging anyway.

My doll quilt (above) for the Doll Quilt Swap is finally finished and flying it’s way to it’s new home this week.  I can’t say too much about where my idea came from until it reaches it’s destination.  But I did use a new product to quilt it with that I plan on blogging about in the near future.  I just need to gather some more photos of it in use so I can give you a proper review.  Stay tuned for more information on that subject.

Did you notice that the grass in my doll quilt is the same fabric used in my Amy Butler bag and the flowers are left over Kaffe fabric from the Bloomin’ Pinwheel quilt?

QAL fabrics?

And while I was waiting for my computer to download some free trial software, I started digging around in my stash and found some scraps that were given to me in a previous swap.  Then I found some of my own scraps and a few fat quarters that seemed to go rather nicely with the swappy scraps.  All together here, they are looking like a nice possibility for some giant wagon wheel blocks.  Lynn over at Lily’s Quilts is hosting a quilt-along (Flickr group) and I’ve been so tempted to start yet another project.  Since it involves mostly scraps, it doesn’t really count, right?  Just like my half-square triangle zig-zag project doesn’t really count either…

pinning

And on a completely random note, I just discovered that pinning on the underside seems to produce less slippage when I’m sewing over the pins. Yes, I sew over the pins where seams intersect.  Try it and let me know if  it’s true for you as well!

More randomness…  All of the above projects were (or are) produced mainly from scraps. Can you tell that not only my projects are scrappy, but my blogging is becoming scrappy as well?  A little bit of this… a little bit of that…

§ 11 Responses to Scrappy Monday Rambling

  • Billie K says:

    Love the quilt!!!! So adorable.

  • Viv says:

    I Love, love, love you DQS. Hope it’s coming to me🙂

  • Cathy A. says:

    It’s adorable! That Amy Butler print in the leaves is one of my favorite from Soul Blossoms!

  • Alexis says:

    Such a super cute doll quilt! I like scrappy quilts.. and scrappy quilting as well. BTW, I got my porcupine quill off of Etsy, and I LOVE it for unsewing (although I still don’t like unsewing. At all.) Thanks for the tip!

  • Rachel says:

    Eek! That doll quilt is so cute!!

    See you tomorrow…😉

  • nicolette says:

    That’s a totally awesome doll quilt! I love scrappy quilts and scrappy posts!

  • Amanda A says:

    I love to see what people are working on – it motivates me to get sewing! Thanks for sharing your day!

  • kayleighl says:

    That doll quilt? Stunning. I’m simply amazed. Love it!

  • Mona Keegan says:

    The doll quilt is amazing. You ROCK! Thanks for sharing. You make us better!

  • Jeannie says:

    Your doll quilt is wonderful! It reminds me of the cup/saucer bird feeders. I really like it a lot. It is so full of spring goodness. Have a great week and I hope the sun comes out soon.

  • Valentina says:

    dear Anita, what a delight to land in your corner of blogland… I immediately felt at home and had the overwhelming need to grab a pot of tea and stay for a long visit…🙂
    Wow, I am totally enchanted by your Medallion quilt… to the point that my other projects are getting nervous…🙂
    Oh Anita, wow.
    Well- the reason I landed here, was because I am seriously considering a Dear Jane in reds and whites…🙂 Your blocks are absolutely lovely and they are re-assuring me that it could work. I will definitely stay in touch! Greetings from faraway Cyprus, Valentina

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Scrappy Monday Rambling at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

