Appliqué Possibilities

March 15, 2011 § 9 Comments

Black on White fabric

Well, it seems that blogging is a feast or famine type of activity… nothing for days on end… and then two posts, two days in a row. These things just can’t be controlled!

I’ve been collecting black on white prints for awhile now, thinking that they would be great background pieces for a future applique project.  They range in size from fat quarters to  whole yard pieces.

Feather with Flowers -or- Aunt Millie's Garden?

Originally, I thought I might tackle Aunt Millie’s Garden. There really is no way to get better at applique than to just jump in and do it.  I once took a needleturn appliqué class from Nancy Chong and I loved her advice. She said that it was better to jump in and learn on a project that you’ve been dying to make than work on a project you hated because you didn’t want to “ruin” your dream project.  And I think she is right. I just need to jump in and do something that I’ve been wanting to make and let it be a teaching/learning project… kind of like my Dear Jane project and hand sewing. (No matter how long it takes!)

Well, the other day I was perusing books for inspiration for another freelance project and I ran across the Feather With Flowers Quilt in the book Quilts from the Henry Ford.  I love this quilt!  So now I think I might be changing my mind on which project I should work on.  Not to mention… all the ladies over at Glorious Applique keep tempting me with their Kim McLean quilts. Gorgeousness!

Large vs. Small pieces

The pieces for the Feather With Flowers Quilt are so much bigger that I really think I should attempt this quilt first.  I’m just wondering how it would look with a randomly pieced background. The pattern calls for 7 yards and I just happen to have enough of a stash above if I used all of my black on white pieces.  What do you think?

It’s not like I need another project… but these fabrics have been calling my name lately.  And Tia’s blocks have given me a little bit of a push.  By the way… I finished sewing all of the Hexagon Tile blocks together today.  Yippee!!  And… we replaced our broken camera lens with a new one as well as rediscovered a couple of fixed focal length lenses from our film camera.  I think the photos are looking better, don’t you think?

§ 9 Responses to Appliqué Possibilities

  • Alexis says:

    Oh my gosh! That is going to be fabulous… one of the first quilts that turned me on to applique had a black and white background (http://www.flickr.com/photos/31431156@N08/4017908548/in/set-72157622786826562/) and I think a randomly pieced one would be even better. The Piece O Cake ladies do those and I love their stuff! I do agree that the best way to learn applique is to just do it– Have fun with this project!!

  • Kathy says:

    Your ideas sounds wonderful.

  • Kim says:

    I absolutely LOVE the Feathers w/Flowers quilt and have that page tagged in my book as well, so I can open the book, gaze at the quilt and dream of making it someday. But you know, you’re right! Nothing like diving in! I see it and my first thought is “Oh this is too big of an applique project for me to try and tackle right now.” but…a little at a time and it will be done! I’ve got a large bolt of Moda Muslin and I’m prepared to use it! ha!

  • Andrea says:

    I am admiring the feathers & flowers from Fons & Porter! I have dabbled a little with needle turn, but haven’t made the leap yet into a full scale project, it’s so hard to decide…modern or historic, I love them both!!! I’m sure whatever you decide will be gorgeous, love the black & white fabrics too!

  • sewpam63 says:

    I enjoy a pieced background for applique. : ) I like the texture and interest it provides. Plus, you get to do a bit of both, piecing and applique! I say SEW for it!!! P.S. the Kim McLean applique pieces are not tiny…tempting…?!

  • nicolette says:

    Those background fabrics look devine! Just dive in an applique project. You’ll love it! The Lollypop Tree by Kim McLean is a really easy one with all the leaves and circles.

  • Misty says:

    I think the pieced background is a great idea. The Piece O’ Cake ladies do it to great effect in Applique Outside the Lines and I’m sure it would be very interesting with the black on white fabrics.

    I’m new to applique, too, and have definitely noticed improvement after working on several blocks for a while hanging. I agree, you have to just pick something you really like the look of and start in.

    Best of luck!

  • BetsyE says:

    The Piece O’ Cake pattern will give you more variety – and the blocks are 14″, so the pieces really aren’t that small.🙂 Either one will be just lovely!!

  • Una says:

    Oooo, I think they will make a wonderful backdrop. Go, Anita, go:) Nancy Chong’s idea is certainly a good one. Take care.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Appliqué Possibilities at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

