Diagonal Lace Knit-Along

February 21, 2011 § 3 Comments

Toes-up!

My Diagonal Lace Socks are cast on.  Are you knitting along?  How’s it going?

I’m experimenting with some different toe techniques on these.  On one sock toe I used the Make One (M1) increase. I really don’t like the M1 increase.

On the other sock I used the Knit Through the Loop of the Stitch Below increase.  KnittingHelp.com calls it the Knit Right Loop (KRL) increase.

Also, I did a few rows of increasing every 2nd row, then switched to increasing every 3rd row.  Seeing them here, I think I could have done a few less of the increase every 2nd row and a few more of the increase every 3rd row to create a more rounded toe. I’m a whole lot more comfortable and confident knitting top-down socks, so it’s my goal to get over my intimidation of toe-up socks.

Trisha and I talked about what our next two patterns might be. This is our tentative schedule:

April/May = Jagged by Through the Loops (Ravelry link) or alternately Pinked from Interweave Knits, Winter 2010 issue (Ravelry link)

June/July = Socks for His Nibs by Terrol Getson (Ravelry link)  Sorry, no blog link…

Come knit along with us!

§ 3 Responses to Diagonal Lace Knit-Along

  • Trisha says:

    Your socks are looking great. I am really enjoying this pattern (now that I am on my third try) and I am in love with the yarn I picked. I guess I was just a little out of practice with the sock knitting after working on the Autumn Haze afghan for so long. P.S. I am making them for myself after all. I know, I am so selfish!

  • Susan says:

    wow i didnt understand anything you said in this post. lol. but hope youre having fun! those socks are going to be purty! whats the color of yarn called?

  • Ann Champion says:

    OK..you can tell I haven’t tried socks yet..are you knitting them both at the same time?🙂

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Diagonal Lace Knit-Along at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

