The View Today

February 15, 2011 § 12 Comments

It's a little bit crowded in here

~ It’s a bit crowded in my room today.

~ I think I’m getting a cold.

~ Our furnace died last Friday.

~ We are having a new one installed today.

~ It’s a little cold in my room today, because of the whole furnace situation.

~ We’ve been burning wood in our new fireplace insert to stay warm.

~ All of our seasoned wood is now gone.

~ Working on some applique Bee blocks on the left side of the room.

~ Needed to set up the Hefty Horizon sewing machine for some zig-zagging around the applique pieces.

~ Working on some freelance stuff on the computer.

~ Really need to get back to work on the hexagon blocks next week or I might not get them all done by the end of March.

~ I wish I had some time to play along and make some of these free-pieced blocks everyone is working on!  They are so fabulous!

~ But I did make a couple fun mug rug/mini quilts over the weekend. (below)

~ I love those mini quilts that look like notebook paper, so I had to give it a try.

~ Happy Tuesday to you!  (But for some reason it feels like Monday to me.)

Thank you for visiting today!

§ 12 Responses to The View Today

  • Linda says:

    Love your sewing space you have it set up soooo conveniently. and your little mug rug is sooooo cute too!

  • marianne says:

    That mini-quilt is so darling! Love it!

  • Susan says:

    wow you are super busy (and cold!) glad you are getting your new furnace put in.
    i wish you were playing with us too but you can always play later when you have more time.
    love your mugrug. perfect word stitching!

  • Lynn says:

    Oh you are right! The mug rug that looks like paper is fantastic!!!! How did you get the lines so straight? Did you draw them in or eyeball it?

  • Trisha says:

    Love your notebook paper mini quilt. What a cute idea!

  • Alexis says:

    Such a cute mini quilt! I hope the heat helps you feel all better soon!

  • pratima says:

    From the picture, I could’ve never guessed that it is cold. Looks quite the opposite.. very cosy and warm for blissful sewing. Your mug rug is adorable! a bright spot on a cold day.

  • isabel says:

    Visiting you is allways very pleasant!

  • Linda Sue Johnson says:

    Awesome, you have a Janome Horizon. I just bought one last month and am already in love with it!!! I have a “learning” seminar (actuallly a private lesson) at the dealer on Wednesday and I am so looking forward to asking some specific questions about it’s capabilities!!!

  • Kathy says:

    Do hope that by now you are as warm and cozy as the look of your lovely sewing room and mini mini. So, so beautifully organized! Thanks for having us.

  • Una says:

    Thank YOU, Anita, for adding my little tut to your sidebar!
    How cheerful your mug rug is – one feels smitten to make some, all the mug rugs in blogland seem contageous:) I hope the cold has passed and that your furnace problem is solved. Warm greetings from a cold Norway

  • Haylee says:

    I love the idea to make a mini quilt look like notebook paper. How creative!
    I hope you can manage to stay warm before your heater gets fixed! What a perfect excuse to wrap up with a warm blanket and a good movie right?🙂
    Oh and fun little fact, I started sewing by signing up with 4H too! haha I thought that was kinda cool that we had that in common.
    Have a good weekend!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The View Today at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

